soundburst modified by marid bloodline


Rules Questions


What happens when a soundburst modified by the marid bloodline arcana to do cold damage and change the spell descriptor to cold is cast into an area affected by silence?

for reference, CRB wrote: wrote:

You blast an area with a tremendous cacophony. Every creature in
the area takes 1d8 points of sonic damage and must succeed on a
Fortitude save to avoid being stunned for 1 round. Creatures that
cannot hear are not stunned but are still damaged.

I assume you still do 1d8 damage, but do you still stun the creatures within the silenced area?

One can assume that is is because of the tremendous cacophony that the creatures are stunned. But if it's now a cold spell, do you still create that cacophoneous effect? would the cold/frost still stun the creature even within the silenced area?

Strickly RAW, i would guess that only the damage/descriptor is changed and nothing else, but still.....what do you think????


So...does anybody know the answer to that???

Liberty's Edge

It is left very vague. However, if the descriptor is changed, certain things don't seem able to happen.

While it is not the same source, I would reference the Admixture School ability of an Evocation Wizard. It performs the same act and gives a greater description of what happens in situations exactly like you are asking about.


You do. Secondary effects stay as is. Flavor text changes to make sense : "You blast an area with a tremendous ccold."

Cold can definitely stun!


make senses thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / soundburst modified by marid bloodline All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions