Smite Evil vs objects?


Rules Questions


We have a power gamer who likes to interpret all rules in his favor, so when he used his ability to smite evil on an object I was doubtful.

I went back to my book (2nd printing) and read the smite evil section it begins by using the label "target" but later uses the label "creatures". The rules also state that smite lasts until the target is dead. This leads me to think that objects are not suitable targets for smite evil.

Has there been an errata that allows paladins to use smite evil against objects and bypass hardness, similar to creatures and bypassing DR?


A paladin that smites an evil item seems legit to me.

But he still can't bypass an objects hardness. Or he can, if you let him as a DM.

Shadow Lodge

I'd say that, short of artifacts, an object being evil would be pretty damned rare.

And smiting artifacts is unlikely to do anything.


Bobbodagreen wrote:

We have a power gamer who likes to interpret all rules in his favor, so when he used his ability to smite evil on an object I was doubtful.

I went back to my book (2nd printing) and read the smite evil section it begins by using the label "target" but later uses the label "creatures". The rules also state that smite lasts until the target is dead. This leads me to think that objects are not suitable targets for smite evil.

Has there been an errata that allows paladins to use smite evil against objects and bypass hardness, similar to creatures and bypassing DR?

Smite says evil "creatures" and it says it overcomes "DR". DR is not hardness and objects are not creatures. An object that is evil with hardness 2000000 can not have that hardness overcome by a +5 aligned weapon, smite, holy weapons, or anything that specifically calls out DR. Your player is wrong.


Smite Evil wrote:

Once per day, a paladin can call out to the powers of good to aid her in her struggle against evil. As a swift action, the paladin chooses one target within sight to smite. If this target is evil, the paladin adds her Charisma bonus (if any) to her attack rolls and adds her paladin level to all damage rolls made against the target of her smite. If the target of smite evil is an outsider with the evil subtype, an evil-aligned dragon, or an undead creature, the bonus to damage on the first successful attack increases to 2 points of damage per level the paladin possesses. Regardless of the target, smite evil attacks automatically bypass any DR the creature might possess.

In addition, while smite evil is in effect, the paladin gains a deflection bonus equal to her Charisma modifier (if any) to her AC against attacks made by the target of the smite. If the paladin targets a creature that is not evil, the smite is wasted with no effect.

The smite evil effect remains until the target of the smite is dead or the next time the paladin rests and regains her uses of this ability. At 4th level, and at every three levels thereafter, the paladin may smite evil one additional time per day, as indicated on Table: Paladin, to a maximum of seven times per day at 19th level.

So, based on the description it appears that an object could be a valid target. But, the object would need to be an evil object to be affected at all. If the object is evil (unlikely) the paladin could get the damage bonus against it and would bypass any DR it has, of course objects don't normally have DR they have hardness instead. Which Smite doesn't bypass.

Of course, a sensible person is aware that Smite Evil is intended to apply to creatures only.


Edit: It does say "target" not creature, but by objects have hardness so it does not really matter.

Grand Lodge

That reminds me, when I attack an object with my +1 Holy Adamantine Stinging Whip I keep asking the GM if it is evil, thus giving me the +2d6 Holy damage to it. For some strange reason, the object never seem to be evil. (But I still bypass it's hardness due to the Adamantine.)

Objects do not have alignment, with the exception of some magical items.


Drake Brimstone wrote:

That reminds me, when I attack an object with my +1 Holy Adamantine Stinging Whip I keep asking the GM if it is evil, thus giving me the +2d6 Holy damage to it. For some strange reason, the object never seem to be evil. (But I still bypass it's hardness due to the Adamantine.)

Objects do not have alignment, with the exception of some magical items.

I'm assuming the first part of your post is semi-joke correct?

That not withstanding, yeah. 99% of objects don't have an evil alignment. Why? Because they're just objects. I don't even think an object with "evil" abilities would technically count, it would pretty much need to be an intelligent object with an evil alignment for smite to work on it. Because otherwise, the object is neutral. Maybe, objects that radiate an evil aura due to the Unholy property or specific weapons like the Nine Lives Stealer it would also function against. In any event, I think it's going to be a very short list that it works on.

Grand Lodge

Claxon wrote:
Drake Brimstone wrote:

That reminds me, when I attack an object with my +1 Holy Adamantine Stinging Whip I keep asking the GM if it is evil, thus giving me the +2d6 Holy damage to it. For some strange reason, the object never seem to be evil. (But I still bypass it's hardness due to the Adamantine.)

Objects do not have alignment, with the exception of some magical items.

I'm assuming the first part of your post is semi-joke correct?

That not withstanding, yeah. 99% of objects don't have an evil alignment. Why? Because they're just objects. I don't even think an object with "evil" abilities would technically count, it would pretty much need to be an intelligent object with an evil alignment for smite to work on it. Because otherwise, the object is neutral. Maybe, objects that radiate an evil aura due to the Unholy property or specific weapons like the Nine Lives Stealer it would also function against. In any event, I think it's going to be a very short list that it works on.

Yes, the first part is a semi-joke, I never actually think the objects are evil.

I wouldn't even call objects Neutral, they just don't have an alignment because it is an object not a creature.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

How about trying to Smite sunder an Evil intelligent sword?

Grand Lodge

Zahir ibn Mahmoud ibn Jothan wrote:
How about trying to Smite sunder an Evil intelligent sword?

Smite may bypass DR, but it does diddly against hardness.


Just to ask a question, what about the necrostruct from Louis James Porter, Jr. designs? It's a neutral evil construct so would Smite Evil work against it?


It seems fair enough. I can easily picture a paladin having a go at an evil altar, smiting it to rubble.
Evil objects (things specifically infused with an evil essence) are pretty rare though so I don't see why it shouldn't be allowed.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

LazarX wrote:
Zahir ibn Mahmoud ibn Jothan wrote:
How about trying to Smite sunder an Evil intelligent sword?
Smite may bypass DR, but it does diddly against hardness.

Right, but he can get the to hit and damage bonus, we agree on that right? If the evil sword is being wielded by an antagonist, would we agree the Paladin gets the smite AC bonus against those attacks?


Daniel Turner Zen Archer wrote:
Just to ask a question, what about the necrostruct from Louis James Porter, Jr. designs? It's a neutral evil construct so would Smite Evil work against it?

A construct is a creature, not an object. So, if it's an evil creature, it's an evil creature. And smite works just fine.

Quote:

Construct

A construct is an animated object or artificially created creature. A construct has the following features.

Zahir ibn Mahmoud ibn Jothan wrote:
LazarX wrote:
Zahir ibn Mahmoud ibn Jothan wrote:
How about trying to Smite sunder an Evil intelligent sword?
Smite may bypass DR, but it does diddly against hardness.
Right, but he can get the to hit and damage bonus, we agree on that right? If the evil sword is being wielded by an antagonist, would we agree the Paladin gets the smite AC bonus against those attacks?

If by this question, you are asking if a non-evil creature happens to be wielding an evil sword does the smite bonus apply to the creature? No. What if the creature is evil? No. Not unless the Paladin spends a Smite against the creature. So, an evil weapon wielded by someone that is Smote by a Paladin will take extra damage assuming the Paladin makes a sunder attempt on it and the paladin would get the bonus to hit on the sunder. It otherwise wouldn't help him offensively against the creature.

As to whether he gets the AC bonus....I don't know. I'd probably allow it just because it's a pretty obscure and unlikely use.


LazarX wrote:
Zahir ibn Mahmoud ibn Jothan wrote:
How about trying to Smite sunder an Evil intelligent sword?
Smite may bypass DR, but it does diddly against hardness.

It is true that they have an entire lengthy section on items that could theoretically be evil, and possibly possess weak willed users.

An interesting question: let's say you are fighting a possessed invulnerable rager barbarian. The item controlling him is CE, but the barbarian is NG. Since the item is the one in control, could you use smite evil on the barbarian, and thus bypass his DR?


Is it an evil petting zoo?

Sovereign Court

Would a smiting paladin gain the bonus damage when performing a sunder attack upon equipment held/worn by an evil opponent, even if that bonus damage doesn't ignore hardness?

And would the answer be different if the first attack of the smite was the sunder?

Personally, I'd say yes to the former, and no to the latter.

EDIT:
Another question would be does the smite end if the sunder successfully destroys a piece of equipment. I'd say, no.

Grand Lodge

deusvult wrote:

Would a smiting paladin gain the bonus damage when performing a sunder attack upon equipment held/worn by an evil opponent, even if that bonus damage doesn't ignore hardness?

And would the answer be different if the first attack of the smite was the sunder?

Personally, I'd say yes to the former, and no to the latter.

EDIT:
Another question would be does the smite end if the sunder successfully destroys a piece of equipment. I'd say, no.

You have to declare your smite target.

The case of the NG Barbarian and the CE sword.

Case 1. Paladin declares smite on the Barbarian... Result.. no effect because the Barbarian is not evil.

Case 2. Paladin declares smite on the sword. If the Paladin declares his attacks to sunder the sword, he gets his bonuses to hit and damage which will be tempered by the swords hardness. Once he destroys the sword, the smite ends. If he declares normal attacks on the Barbarian, the smite has no effect. He only gets defensive bonuses against the Bar barian's sword attacks if the sword is dominating it's user. If it's just telling him to attack and the Barbarian is going with it, no dice.

Sovereign Court

Right, but if the paladin declares smite on the CE barbarian, I'm saying he should get the bonus damage whether he's performing a 'white' attack on the barbarian's person directly, or if he's sundering equipment worn/carried by the barbarian, since the barbarian is a legal smite target. Should he shatter the evil barbarian's weapon, the smite doesn't end because the barbarian was the target.


deusvult wrote:
Right, but if the paladin declares smite on the CE barbarian, I'm saying he should get the bonus damage whether he's performing a 'white' attack on the barbarian's person directly, or if he's sundering equipment worn/carried by the barbarian, since the barbarian is a legal smite target. Should he shatter the evil barbarian's weapon, the smite doesn't end because the barbarian was the target.

If you're targetting someone who is evil with Smite, then it works like Smite normally does. So yes, you can sunder their equipment and get your bonuses against them, but the question was about a non-evil creature wielding a evil weapon.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Claxon wrote:
deusvult wrote:
Right, but if the paladin declares smite on the CE barbarian, I'm saying he should get the bonus damage whether he's performing a 'white' attack on the barbarian's person directly, or if he's sundering equipment worn/carried by the barbarian, since the barbarian is a legal smite target. Should he shatter the evil barbarian's weapon, the smite doesn't end because the barbarian was the target.
If you're targetting someone who is evil with Smite, then it works like Smite normally does. So yes, you can sunder their equipment and get your bonuses against them, but the question was about a non-evil creature wielding a evil weapon.

And my thought is the Paladin could smite the weapon directly. Gain bonuses for sundering (and disarming) it, AND gain the AC bonus against attacks made with that weapon.

It's a bit of an abstraction, but I believe it is RAI and supportable as RAW.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Smite Evil vs objects? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions