Summon Natures Ally question


Rules Questions


So part of the rules for SNA state:

A summoned monster cannot summon or otherwise conjure another creature, nor can it use any teleportation or planar travel abilities. Creatures cannot be summoned into an environment that cannot support them. Creatures summoned using this spell cannot use spells or spell-like abilities that duplicate spells that have expensive material components (such as wish).

But SNA 4 lets you summon a Satyr which has a 1/day (sp) of the spell Summon Nature's Ally III.

The Satyr is fairly weak creature by it's self without its spells and spell like abilities.

Did they make a mistake here? Since its a once a day spell like ability, should the Satyr be allowed to use its SNA III?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Sounds like they can't summon anything, since as you quoted the spell, "A summoned monster cannot summon or otherwise conjure another creature"

Sczarni

Satyrs are still quite dangerous without their SNA SLA.

But, as long as this isn't for PFS, talk to your GM =). If you really like Satyrs I'm sure something could be worked out in trade. I'd be open to discussion if it were a player of mine.

Grand Lodge

Darthslash wrote:

So part of the rules for SNA state:

A summoned monster cannot summon or otherwise conjure another creature, nor can it use any teleportation or planar travel abilities. Creatures cannot be summoned into an environment that cannot support them. Creatures summoned using this spell cannot use spells or spell-like abilities that duplicate spells that have expensive material components (such as wish).

But SNA 4 lets you summon a Satyr which has a 1/day (sp) of the spell Summon Nature's Ally III.

The Satyr is fairly weak creature by it's self without its spells and spell like abilities.

Did they make a mistake here? Since its a once a day spell like ability, should the Satyr be allowed to use its SNA III?

Nope... summoned creatures can not summmon. Satyrs have other tricks to use.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summon Natures Ally question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions