| Erick Wilson |
I decided to make a new thread about this thing I posted elsewhere, because it seems totally insane. I thought the snapleaf was originally supposed to be a one-use item. But reading the item description in hero lab and on OGC, I don't see anything about that. This has to be an error right?
Because otherwise...does the snapleaf really make everybody who's willing to pay 750 gp a ninja, able to use invisibility at will as an immediate action? Does this mean vanishing trick is now obsolete?
Someone may come along and say that you can't activate snap leaf unless you're falling but...I'm not sure RAW supports that interpretation. Yes, it says you have to activate both the feather fall power and the invisibility power at the same time, and feather fall says it targets "freefalling" stuff, but...
1. the text of snapleaf says gives the benefits of feather fall and invisibility, which theoretically negates the target restriction on feather fall and
2. even if you don't follow that interpretation you could easily argue that you activate both feather fall and invisibility at once, but only invisibility activates successfully since the feather fall target is invalid
If either of these interpretations are true, snapleaf has got to go, lest we want every PC in every game from now on to essentially have vanishing trick, only better since it's an immediate action.
Even if those interpretations aren't correct, snapleaf still renders boots of the cat and ring of feather falling pretty much totally obsolete, and ought to be banned just for that.
| MechE_ |
Here is a link to the snapleaf item. I had also wondered what I was missing when I read the item's description. Clarification would be nice.
| MechE_ |
It's in the FAQ as well.
Except why in the heck is it under the Pathfinder Society FAQ section when it was published in Ultimate Equipment? I don't play Pathfinder Society and thus have no reason to check their FAQs for this.
Should that FAQ not be in the Ultimate Equipment section instead?
| Erick Wilson |
Okay, thanks for the responses. The confusing thing (aside from it being in Society FAQ) is that I knew it was originally one use, and the new text omitted that, which seems intentional. So apparently in revising the text to clarify some minor rules issues, they created a way bigger one. And incidentally, I'm still not totally certain whether you're intended to be able to use the snapleaf when you're not falling...