Hunter's Surprise Rogue Talent


Rules Questions


Hunter's Surprise (Ex): Once per day, a rogue with this talent can designate a single enemy she is adjacent to as her prey. Until the end of her next turn, she can add her sneak attack damage to all attacks made against her prey, even if she is not flanking it or it is not flat-footed.

Might not be intended, but I'd read that as yes, if you spend the action to designate, the target can run away and you can unleash a full attack with a long bow from distance and still get sneak attack on every shot.

a 1/day advance talent should be potent, this one is still limited, so, I'd allow it.


Only until the end of your next turn. Thats one, maybe two full attacks, depending on what action it is. I'm assuming it's a free action, but it's still not that good unfortunately.


I think the rule on actions is, if it doesn't tell you what is required, it takes a standard action...

so this would only let you benefit on the following round.


All due respect to Leo on that other thread...

in the combat section of the rulebook "Use an extraordinary ability" is listed under standard actions/ provoke Attack of Opportunity? No

I really think it needs to say "free action" to violate that


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I have read this in PRD:

"Extraordinary Abilities (Ex): Using an extraordinary ability is usually not an action because most extraordinary abilities automatically happen in a reactive fashion. Those extraordinary abilities that are actions are usually standard actions that cannot be disrupted, do not require concentration, and do not provoke attacks of opportunity."

So the general rule is that extraordinary ability take no action, but when it's wrote that the ability need an action its' by default a standard action (according to combat rules)...

So when a rogue use hunter's surprise he can make a full attack using this ability since the first round of the ability use...


1 person marked this as a favorite.
pheres wrote:

I have read this in PRD:

"Extraordinary Abilities (Ex): Using an extraordinary ability is usually not an action because most extraordinary abilities automatically happen in a reactive fashion. Those extraordinary abilities that are actions are usually standard actions that cannot be disrupted, do not require concentration, and do not provoke attacks of opportunity."

So the general rule is that extraordinary ability take no action, but when it's wrote that the ability need an action its' by default a standard action (according to combat rules)...

So when a rogue use hunter's surprise he can make a full attack using this ability since the first round of the ability use...

So the following scenario is legal?

Hunter's Surprise (Ex) - Scenario: A party with "Swing About" moves a rogue adjacent to an enemy. On the rogue's turn, can he designate prey (normally a STD action) as part of a full round attack action, correct?


So, she can add to every attack a sneak damage?? a 15th Slayer Charactr with Improved Two Weapon Fighting, will add 5d6 of sneak damage to every attack 5x5d6??

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hunter's Surprise Rogue Talent All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions