Wrist Sheath, Spring Loaded & AO


Rules Questions


Does using a spring loaded wrist sheath in melee draw a AO?


Are you using it to draw a weapon?

If so, then no. Drawing a weapon does not provoke.

If not, then yes. Drawing an item (like a potion) provokes.

Spring loaded wrist sheaths reduce the time it takes to draw. They do not modify whether drawing provokes or not.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

This is a "it doesn't say it doesn't" issue.

Wrist Sheath says "provoking attacks of opportunity as normal"

Spring Loaded only says "that provokes an attack of opportunity" for the loading mechanic and not the retrieve.

So it comes down to your stance.

If you believe drawing an item as a swift provokes, then it does.
If you believe drawing an item as a swift doesn't, then it doesn't.

Sczarni

When I judge PFS, my ruling is that it provokes. Here is how I see it:

1) Swift actions, in and of themselves, do not protect you from Attacks of Opportunity. There are many swift actions that do not provoke, but this does not mean that all swift actions do not provoke.

2) Using a regular wrist sheath, as a move action, provokes. A spring-loaded wrist sheath simply switches this from a move action to a swift action. It does not remove the stipulation that it provokes an Attack of Opportunity.

Therefore, using a spring-loaded wrist sheath does provoke an Attack of Opportunity.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I believe this post is as good of a clarification as we will have by a Developer that takes his time to clarify rules that people have debates over.

Wrist Sheath and AoOs

Sczarni

From the thread linked above (edited because JJ's quote of Wraith was cut off):

James Jacobs wrote:
Wraith235 wrote:
does retrieving a Wand from a spring Loaded wrist sheath Provoke
Retrieving an item should only provoke an attack of opportunity when it means your'e taking your eyes off the fight to dig through a bag or whatever to do so. A spring-loaded wrist sheath type thing is a swift action and doesn't require you to turn your attention away from defending yourself (it's not a move action) and as such should not provoke an attack of opportunity.

I know JJ is "not a rules guy", but his explanation may change my stance on this.

Thanks for finding this!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wrist Sheath, Spring Loaded & AO All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions