| Koksik |
Forgive me if I am doing something wrong because im new to both this forum and to pathfinder but I can't find the answer.
Plus, I'm not a native speaker so please forgive me mistakes.
I have a shield with clangorous and I know that everytime block an attack with a shield as an immediate action I can choose to use it's ability to deafen enemies.
But how do I determine if the strike was blocked by my shield, my armor or just avoided? Can I just say: "I blocked with my shield and I decide to use it's ability"? Can I do it repeatedly? Or is it somehow included in rules? I assume, that nearby allies are also affected, correct?
| Maezer |
Ignore the first line of text, its just flavor text. To actually use its ability you have to be hit by an attack. If your relevant AC is greater than the attack roll, it misses and you cannot trigger your shield ability.
Yes you can do it repeatedly so long as you have an immediate action available.
And yes, if you include allies in the area of effect they would need to make saves as well.
Bugan Bullbrawn
|
A friend of mine was GM for me and I was attacked with a (SU) touch attack. He said that because the attack was by a ghost and not actually physically hit me the ability doesn't work. First off is that even correct because the ability says "when hit by an attack"? Also it doesnt say have to take a certian type of damage so,are there any cercimstances when this ability doesn't work... IE when hit by an AoE, magic missle, Arrow/bolt, Ray, Channel?
As far as I am concerned if it beat my AC OR I take damage of any kind, OR if I am hit by a debuff spell I am able to use this ability. In other words, if its an action that would take a character out of invisibility and affects my character then clangorous works? Because any kind of attack removes invisibility. Is that correct?
| Snowblind |
A friend of mine was GM for me and I was attacked with a (SU) touch attack. He said that because the attack was by a ghost and not actually physically hit me the ability doesn't work. First off is that even correct because the ability says "when hit by an attack"? Also are there any cercimstances when this ability doesn't work... IE when hit by an AoE, magic missle, Arrow/bolt, Ray, Channel. As far as I am concerned if it beat my AC OR I take damage of any kind, OR if I am hit by a debuff spell I am able to use this ability. Is that correct?
If and only if the attacker needs to make an attack roll to hit you then it counts as getting hit by an attack (barring things like coup de graces).
Unfortunately clangorous wouldn't be useful because both effects of clangorous have a non-object fort save allowed and thus they can't affect undead.
Bugan Bullbrawn
|
What if i roll a relfex to avoid a fireball and i am hit. does it work then?
I guess what I want to know is what the definition of attack is?
I wanted to cast the clangorous on a square that the ghost was in but effect the casting cleric behind it.
Invisibilit reads:
Causing harm indirectly is not an attack. Thus, an invisible being can open doors, talk, eat, climb stairs, summon monsters and have them attack, cut the ropes holding a rope bridge while enemies are on the bridge, remotely trigger traps, open a portcullis to release attack dogs, and so forth. If the subject attacks directly, however, it immediately becomes visible along with all its gear.
Attack is defined as causing harm directly, Is there another Piazo definition for attack?
| Snowblind |
What if i roll a relfex to avoid a fireball and i am hit. does it work then?
I guess what I want to know is what the definition of attack is?
I wanted to cast the clangorous on a square that the ghost was in but effect the casting cleric behind it.
Invisibilit reads:
Causing harm indirectly is not an attack. Thus, an invisible being can open doors, talk, eat, climb stairs, summon monsters and have them attack, cut the ropes holding a rope bridge while enemies are on the bridge, remotely trigger traps, open a portcullis to release attack dogs, and so forth. If the subject attacks directly, however, it immediately becomes visible along with all its gear.Attack is defined as causing harm directly, Is there another Piazo definition for attack?
Invisibility uses the term "For the purposes of this spell". It isn't the general definition.
Whatever is called an attack here is an attack. Yes the rules are all over the place. Read over it anyway. There is a lot of little stuff in there that is good to know. FYI a touch attack is an attack (shockingly enough).
Fireball is not an attack. It is a spell with a radius of 20 feet that deals 5-10d6 damage to everything in that area (reflex save for half). You don't roll reflex to avoid getting hit. That's not how the game's language describes it. You roll a reflex save for half damage.