Magic item crafting, spellcraft DC


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

At first i thought it was 5 + CL of the item.

However : http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/wondrous-items/m-p/pearl -of-power seems to imply otherwise, since you can make a level 1 pearl with a CL of 1 (contary to the stated CL of 17 for pearls of power).

So if im understanding this correctly, a level 1 pearl of power would have a spellcraft check of 5 + 1 to make?

Does this only apply to pearls of power or every item?

For example a headband of intelligence has a CL of 8, but the spell fox's cunning is a level 2 spell. Is the spellcraft DC 5 + 8 or 5 + 3 (since a 3rd level caster can cast the level 2 spells necessary to make it)?


By RAW it is a CL 17 item, so the DC is 22. However, the FAQ reply modifies this, and enables you to set the CL to whatever you like, I guess. So the DC is whatever you want +5...

That seems like a bad ruling to me... but I don't personally like things that make crafting magic items easy, or especially flexible.

Liberty's Edge

PRD wrote:
While item creation costs are handled in detail below, note that normally the two primary factors are the caster level of the creator and the level of the spell or spells put into the item. A creator can create an item at a lower caster level than her own, but never lower than the minimum level needed to cast the needed spell. Using metamagic feats, a caster can place spells in items at a higher level than normal.

The caster level of the items are a legacy, and a legacy that wasn't even meant to be, from what the writers of the 3rd edition said.

The idea was to remove the CL from the items unless it was necessary to determine how it work (i.e. the item X cast spell X at CL 3) but what was sent to the printer was a draft with the CL, and that is what we got.

So the official rule, as clarified and expanded by the FAQ is that the minimum caster level for a magic item is the minimum caster level needed to cast the spell involved in its creation unless the caster level was on of the item prerequisite (example: the weapons special abilities).


Okay so lets say a wizard wants to make a headband of intelligence.

The minimum CL of the item is 3, because he needs to be level 3 to cast the level 2 spell fox's cunning. So it would be a spellcraft check of 8 to make it.

If he doesnt have the spell fox's cunning, does the minimum CL change or is it just 5 + 3 (CL) + 5 (missing pre-req spell)?

Liberty's Edge

The minimum CL don't change, the total DC to make the headband if you don't know fox's cunning is 13:
5 (base) +3 (CL) +5 (lacking 1 prerequisite)

The only reason to make items with a higher CL is to reduce the chances of a successful dispel magic disabling them for a time. As long as the CL don't make a difference the cost of the item won't change.


Thanks, that makes sense.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic item crafting, spellcraft DC All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.