Selective spell and Swarms


Rules Questions


I am Curious as to the effect of selective spell on a person in a swarm.

for example: Swarm is occupying the same space as target 1. The Sorcerer casts a fireball centered on target 1 space, selecting the target 1 to be excluded.

Because the swarm is ON target 1 is the swarm also excluded or does swarm take the full damage.


shadowsgrneyes wrote:

I am Curious as to the effect of selective spell on a person in a swarm.

for example: Swarm is occupying the same space as target 1. The Sorcerer casts a fireball centered on target 1 space, selecting the target 1 to be excluded.

Because the swarm is ON target 1 is the swarm also excluded or does swarm take the full damage.

You cannot exclude a swarm, because a swarm can't be targeted. The text is:

"you can choose a number of targets in the area [...] These targets are excluded from the effects of your spell."

So the feat exclude the target, not the square. You don't create nothing like a "fireball with holes", at least not from what the text says. Just exclude the target from the effect.


so in action, its more like you make the targets you select with selective spell immune to your spell than actually excluding them from the area of your spells effect, which is what i was thinking.


shadowsgrneyes wrote:
so in action, its more like you make the targets you select with selective spell immune to your spell than actually excluding them from the area of your spells effect, which is what i was thinking.

Yes, something like that. Or at least this is what it seems from reading the text.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Selective spell and Swarms All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions