does threat automatically mean hit?


Rules Questions


Lets say a lvl 1 rogue who has 10 str is using a shortsword that is 19/20 to crit. The rogue goes up against a mob that has ac of 20 or higher and rolls a 19. Does the rogue hit said target?


PRD>Combat>Actions in Combat>Standard Actions>Attack>Critical Hits wrote:
Increased Threat Range: Sometimes your threat range is greater than 20. That is, you can score a threat on a lower number. In such cases, a roll of lower than 20 is not an automatic hit. Any attack roll that doesn't result in a hit is not a threat.

Only a natural 20 always hits, regardless of AC.


No the rogue misses the target. A natural 20 is the only roll guaranteed to hit the target, no matter what weapon you use.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

From the PFSRD:

Sometimes your threat range is greater than 20. That is, you can score a threat on a lower number. In such cases, a roll of lower than 20 is not an automatic hit. Any attack roll that doesn't result in a hit is not a threat.


Okay tyvm

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / does threat automatically mean hit? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions