RIVER OF WIND


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

"School evocation [air]; Level druid 4, sorcerer/wizard 4
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range 120 ft.
Area 120-ft. line
Duration 1 round/level
Saving Throw Fortitude partial; Spell Resistance yes
Summoning up the power of the tempest, you direct a current of forceful winds where you please. This spell creates a 5-foot-diameter line of wind—the direction of the wind is away from your location when you cast the spell, and remains constant in that direction for the spell duration. Creatures caught in a river of wind take 4d6 nonlethal damage and are knocked prone. A successful Fortitude save halves the damage and prevents being knocked prone.

A creature that begins its turn wholly or partially within a river of wind must make a Fortitude save or be pushed 20 feet in the wind's direction of flow, take 2d6 nonlethal damage, and be knocked prone—a successful Fortitude save means the creature merely takes 1d6 nonlethal damage. Creatures under the effect of freedom of movement and creatures with the air subtype are unaffected by a river of wind."

Ok, then, on Round one, it's pretty clear.

But what happens on Round Two if the Wizard moves?
Does the river stay where it was?
Does it continue from the wizard in the same direction, but from his new location?

Or move or not? What does "You direct a current of forceful winds where you please" mean vs "the direction of the wind is away from your location when you cast the spell, and remains constant in that direction for the spell duration".


Q1: But what happens on Round Two if the Wizard moves?
A1: Nothing happens to the River of Wind. i.e. "the direction of the wind is away from your location when you cast the spell, and remains constant in that direction for the spell duration." Seems pretty clear to me.
Q2: Does the river stay where it was?
A2: Yes, see above.
Q3+: Does it continue from the wizard in the same direction, but from his new location?
A3: No, see above and for further reference see the description below in particular the bolded part. While I agree it is vague in River of Wind I think the intent is the same as with Repel Wood and how I'd rule it.

Repel Wood:

School transmutation; Level druid 6

Casting Time 1 standard action

Components V, S

Range 60 ft.

Area 60-ft. line-shaped emanation from you

Duration 1 min./level (D)

Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no

Waves of energy roll forth from you, moving in the direction that you determine, causing all wooden objects in the path of the spell to be pushed away from you to the limit of the range. Wooden objects larger than 3 inches in diameter that are fixed firmly are not affected, but loose objects are. Objects 3 inches in diameter or smaller that are fixed in place splinter and break, and the pieces move with the wave of energy. Objects affected by the spell are repelled at the rate of 40 feet per round.

Objects such as wooden shields, spears, wooden weapon shafts and hafts, and arrows and bolts are pushed back, dragging those carrying them along. A creature being dragged by an item it is carrying can let go. A creature being dragged by a shield can loose it as a move action and drop it as a free action. If a spear is planted (set) in a way that prevents this forced movement, it splinters. Even magic items with wooden sections are repelled, although an antimagic field blocks the effects.

The waves of energy continue to sweep down the set path for the spell's duration. After you cast the spell, the path is set, and you can then do other things or go elsewhere without affecting the spell's power.


The initial sentence is essentially flavor text. Although it accurately describes what happens as you cast it, you must look to the rest of the spell's text to find the mechanics of how the spell works.

The text "remains constant in that direction for the spell duration" means that the river of wind remains in the same position as when you initially cast it; it doesn't move.


If it was to move with the wizard it would have to specifically call it out in the spell description OR be an emanation.


Kayerloth wrote:

Q1: But what happens on Round Two if the Wizard moves?

A1: Nothing happens to the River of Wind. i.e. "the direction of the wind is away from your location when you cast the spell, and remains constant in that direction for the spell duration." Seems pretty clear to me.
Q2: Does the river stay where it was?
A2: Yes, see above.
Q3+: Does it continue from the wizard in the same direction, but from his new location?
A3: No, see above and for further reference see the description below in particular the bolded part. While I agree it is vague in River of Wind I think the intent is the same as with Repel Wood and how I'd rule it.

** spoiler omitted **...

Yes, but it's "the direction of the wind" not the location of the wind or placement of the wind. That's the issue .

Nor does it have that line from Wood: "After you cast the spell, the path is set, and you can then do other things or go elsewhere without affecting the spell's power."

And if it is like that, it's very underpowered for a 4th level spell.


Yeah I agree it could use a bit of clarity, it is vague even if I think the intent is fairly clear.

As for underpowered, I think it's more circumstantial than underpowered (and maybe a bit of both). It's a multi-round increased range variation of Gust of Wind.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / RIVER OF WIND All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.