Enlarge spell effect and gaining a size


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

There is a medium creature.

He has enlarge permanently cast on him. He is now large.

What happens if a race or class trait increases his base height, which is medium, to large.

So his base height goes from medium to large, but the enlarge spell is still in effect- would this mean the creature is now huge?

It is important to note the increase in growth is natural.


Rather than asking an abstract question, please be more specific. Many effects that change size do not stack with one another.

So, what is this trait or effect that has increased the base size in the first place?

Sczarni

Specifically with Enlarge Person there is the caveat that "multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack".


It sounds like what happens to a dragon as its age category changes and it increases in size naturally.

If a creature is Medium, and an @ LVL extraordinary feature causes him to change his size to Large (something that is a natural progression size change), will the permanent enlarge cause the humanoid to then become Huge. I believe this is the question?


Pauper Princess wrote:

It sounds like what happens to a dragon as its age category changes and it increases in size naturally.

If a creature is Medium, and an @ LVL extraordinary feature causes him to change his size to Large (something that is a natural progression size change), will the permanent enlarge cause the humanoid to then become Huge. I believe this is the question?

This is the only situation where I could legitimately see asking this question, and to my mind it would seem to be strictly applied to creatures whose listings show size changes due to Hit Die advancement (usually through age or similar).

But the way the OP phrased it, it sounds more like he is trying to start a character, enlarge it magically, then apply or somehow retroactively apply a trait or template to enlarge it further. Seems to me that anything inherent to the creature that would change its size would have to be applied first, unless it was an advancement due to natural progression, such as an aging dragon. No way I'd allow somebody to add a later PC class or similar trait to get the extra size category. That's essentially asking the GM to rewrite the parentage of an established character.


I thought of Dragon Disciple when I saw this question.

If the base form changes size in a non-magical way, then I think Enlarge Person would still apply.

If it was changed via a polymorph effect, I think it would cancel the effect of the spell.

/cevah


So for example:

1)The Medium sized creature is level 8 and at level 10 it will naturally grow to Large sized.

2)At level 8 the creature is enlarged with the Enlarge Person spell and then it is made permanent with the spell Permanency. So now the creature is Large sized at level 8 with magic.

3)The creature reaches level 10 and is already Large sized by magic. Does the creature naturally grow to Large size making the enlarge then move the creature to Huge sized?

As per the spell Enlarge Person:

"This spell causes instant growth of a humanoid creature, doubling its height and multiplying its weight by 8. This increase changes the creature's size category to the next larger one. The target gains a +2 size bonus to Strength, a -2 size penalty to Dexterity (to a minimum of 1), and a -1 penalty on attack rolls and AC due to its increased size."

It would seem that Enlarge Person would still apply as the magical enhancement is making the creature one size category larger. It seems that this would happen if the growth occurred naturally after the spell was on and made permanent. The spell should continue to make the creature one size category larger each time the creature naturally progresses to a larger size.

Sczarni

I suppose a permanently enlarged Animal Companion (via Share Spells) advancing in size at 4th or 7th level would also qualify.


For simplicity's sake, recalculate the creature's stats as though it did not have enlarge person, then apply the spell effect again.

Assuming you have a valid stack, of course. Can the OP tell us the plan he wants to accomplish? He's being suspiciously vague.


Bizbag wrote:

For simplicity's sake, recalculate the creature's stats as though it did not have enlarge person, then apply the spell effect again.

Assuming you have a valid stack, of course. Can the OP tell us the plan he wants to accomplish? He's being suspiciously vague.

Exactly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Enlarge spell effect and gaining a size All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions