| alkatrazshock |
I first saw this card and thought it was pretty useless, but playing more, im wondering if im missing how it works, there are like 2 questions I have about its functions, A. since its an item and doesn't specify I cant play weapons on the check, can I additionally use a weapon or a spell with this item, getting the 4d4 to whatever I use as well? and B. it says add the arcane and force traits, so would I get my arcane bonus if I have one? thanks
Calthaer
|
If I'm not mistaken, this item says "For your combat check." Any card that has that verbiage indicates that it is the defining card for your combat check, and that no other cards with similar verbiage can be played on the same check. Unless I'm mistaken (don't have the cards in front of me), weapons and combat spells all contain the same wording, so you can't play two weapons (unless one of them is something like a dagger, which includes a secondary, separate, and different "power" other than its primary function that can be used in conjunction with another weapon), a weapon and this item, a weapon and a combat spell (e.g., Holy Light), and the like.
Just because you add those traits doesn't mean you add your arcane bonus, since you're not using your arcane die. You're just rolling 4d4. You might be able to add another d4 for Lini's animal, or a d4 from Lem or Harsk's recharge, or a d4 from Valeros' "free" combat bonus, but that's kind of a separate issue that only comes into play because this is a combat check.
| tech_biscuit |
Glad I checked before I posted; was about to say essentially the same thing. Just to note, I believe I remember daggers can be used if you've already played another weapon so while it's an exception still won't be usable in this situation.
As far as it being useless; It's definitely not for everyone. I run with a Seoni that keeps one around because she can just recharge it at will, and since it's another attack she has a little more wiggle room in terms of spell diversity. When she can't discard for her power, or is fighting something relatively weak and/or can increase the damage with other cards, she'll use it.
Early Lem it would be pretty much as powerful as a Lightning Touch. Early Seoni/Ezran, it's only a little less powerful. If you're buffing an attack roll actual spells will scale better, but there are times where this would be useful.
ryric
RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32
|
Yep, it's a bit of an oddball item but it does have its uses. My girlfriend and I have been playing a Seoni/Kyra duo and she likes the wand for a couple reasons:
-It's like having another attack spell. Your average roll is 10, 12.5 with a blessing, and that's good enough for a lot of monsters. She took the power feat that lets her auto-recharge items so it goes right back in her deck and saves her from having to use her "discard for spell" power as often.
-It lets her actually fight the bane of Seoni's existence, the Scarecrow Golem. The wand is not a spell.
There are many decks where an item slot would be better served by another choice.
| Hawkmoon269 |
I have used it for Seoni and Ezren. They use it on a lower difficulty monster so they don't have to waste a good attack spell or discard a card in Seoni's case. Plus they've got a decent shot, in not automatic, at recharging it.
Also note, that with some of the role cards, it can become more powerful in combination with other cards.
Lem for example. Both his roles have the power to use d12 instead of the normal die when he plays Blessing of Shelyn. That means that if he uses Wand of Force Missle for his combat check, blessing of Sheyln will let him add 1d12 to to. So now he's rolling 1d12 + 4d4. Not too bad.
Seoni in both her roles can roll a d12 when playing blessing of Pharasma. So she could use WoFM, cast Glibness on herself, and play Blessing of Pharsma. She'd be rolling 2d12 + 4d4 + 3, since BoPharasma adds 2 dice when playing a spell, which she did by plyaing Glibness, her power makes those d12 instead of the d4 from WoFM, and Glibness add 3 to the check. Plus she's going to auto recharge Glibness and (if she took the feat box for items) WoFM. And if the Blessing Discard is also BoPharasma, she recharges that too. So it took 3 cards, but 2 were auto recharge.
I'm not totally sure on this one, but Ezren in his Evoker role can take the power to add 2 to his Arcane checks with the Force trait. WoFM says roll 4d4 with the Arcane and Force traits and Arcane is listed as a trait for the item too, so I'm thinking that since the card is his combat check and therefore gives its traits to his combat check, that means he could roll 4d4 + 2. Not great, but he also has an option to recharge it, so maybe better than a weapon that he might have to discard.
| alkatrazshock |
ah thanks, I thought that's about how it worked, but a lot of things in this game can be unclear, another question if possible, the weapon they introduced in adventure deck one, I think its the dogslicer, I might be wrong, but its the weapon that says count any 1 rolled as a 3, then discard this card, the way its worded it sounds like it auto happens if you get 1 or more 1's , that's the way I think anyways since it doesn't say, you may discard this to count 1's as 3's, so is it auto or just worded weird?
Calthaer
|
I've always assumed, thematically, the Dogslicer is one of those poorly made weapons that could shatter if it hits something the wrong way - the artwork certainly makes it look that way. The shards of metal from the shattered blade would do more damage (i.e., turn all 1s into 3s), but it would ruin the weapon - hence the discard...and hence why it's not a choice of discard when it happens. Maybe I'm wrong.
ryric
RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32
|
You have to discard the dogslicer if any of your d6s come up 1s. Basically it works like this:
Reveal dogslicer to add a d6 to your check
You may discard it at this point to add another d6 if you like
roll your dice
If any d6s, even those not supplied by the dogslicer, come up 1 count them as 3, then discard the dogslicer if you didn't before to get extra dice.
Edit: If none of your d6s come up 1, and you didn't already discard it, your dogslicer lives to slice another day.
| Flat the Impaler |
another question if possible, the weapon they introduced in adventure deck one, I think its the dogslicer, I might be wrong, but its the weapon that says count any 1 rolled as a 3, then discard this card, the way its worded it sounds like it auto happens if you get 1 or more 1's , that's the way I think anyways since it doesn't say, you may discard this to count 1's as 3's, so is it auto or just worded weird?
If any card/power says "you may" then it's optional, otherwise it's required.
The dogslicer is discarded if you roll any 1's, whether you want to or not, and whether you discard it for the extra die or not; all required power happen.
In the hypothetical situation where the "change 1's to 3's power" was optional, then no, you could not choose to activate it if you had already discarded it.
For example, look at just about any spell: it says "discard this card" and in a separate power "if you do not have X skill, banish this card"; the "banish" power applies even from its discarded state...
| tech_biscuit |
She'd be rolling 2d12 + 4d4 + 3, since BoPharasma adds 2 dice when playing a spell, which she did by plyaing Glibness, her power makes those d12 instead of the d4 from WoFM, and Glibness add 3 to the check.
My understanding was that you need to use Pharasma to boost the die roll of the spell. I'll search around, but do you know of a thread that talks about using Pharasma that way? It seems like when casting a spell is a self contained step inside of the adding bonuses to a roll. Which would mean you could use Pharasma when casting of the spell itself, but not after the spell has been cast.
| Hawkmoon269 |
No need to search my friend. http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2q5u6&page=2?Blessing-of-Pharasma#58
| alkatrazshock |
alright, thanks for the replies, I kinda figured the same thing, but im new to pathfinder stuff in general, so a lot of this has been guessing on my part, I probably wouldn't question stuff as much as I do, but from where I used to be an avid magic player, I analyze wording really carefully, and yet overlook the simplest stuff, so I just assume its best to ask people who do know fer sure what they are doing the rules question rather than keep guessing
| Hawkmoon269 |
Oh. And in case anyone doesn't feel like looking through the linked thread, if spelled is played on the same check as the one another Blessing of Pharasma is played, Blessing of Pharasma adds two dice. It doesn't have to be a spelled played by the same character playing the blessing. And neither of them have to be played by the character performing the check. But it does have to all be during the same check and not just during the same turn.
| pluvia33 |
Seoni in both her roles can roll a d12 when playing blessing of Pharasma. So she could use WoFM, cast Glibness on herself, and play Blessing of Pharsma. She'd be rolling 2d12 + 4d4 + 3, since BoPharasma adds 2 dice when playing a spell, which she did by plyaing Glibness, her power makes those d12 instead of the d4 from WoFM, and Glibness add 3 to the check. Plus she's going to auto recharge Glibness and (if she took the feat box for items) WoFM. And if the Blessing Discard is also BoPharasma, she recharges that too. So it took 3 cards, but 2 were auto recharge.
I'm not totally sure on this one, but Ezren in his Evoker role can take the power to add 2 to his Arcane checks with the Force trait. WoFM says roll 4d4 with the Arcane and Force traits and Arcane is listed as a trait for the item too, so I'm thinking that since the card is his combat check and therefore gives its traits to his combat check, that means he could roll 4d4 + 2. Not great, but he also has an option to recharge it, so maybe better than a weapon that he might have to discard.
I'm sorry, but I'm pretty sure neither of these cases work. Wand of Force Missile generates a combat check. Just because it the card has the arcane trait doesn't make it an arcane check. Both powers you referenced specify that they add to arcane checks. If these bonuses applied, then there would be no reason for the characters' innate bonuses to the Arcane skill wouldn't also apply. And since Glibness wouldn't provide its bonus to the check (since it not being an Arcane check also makes it not a Charisma check for Seoni), the Blessing of Pharasma would not provide double dice. But the blessing die would still be a d12 which is nice on its own. And remember, the blessings from characters with their preferred gods don't only give the d12 to their own checks, it also applies to checks by other characters as long as the favored character is the one playing the blessing.
| alkatrazshock |
rather than create a whole new thread, imma ask my new question on here, especially since I am almost positive to the answer, I just wanna make sure, we have a custom assassin character and due to assassins favoring knives, I gave the character the ability to be able to use the stealth die when making combat checks using the knife trait, and also gave it the checkbox adding of finesse trait, cause a lot of finesse weapons are assassin like as well and are fitting, so the question is, since the stealth is in the dexterity, would the blessing of erastil add 2 dice? im sure it will but just wanna be sure
| Hawkmoon269 |
I would think so. What you've done sounds sort of like a version of Sajan's power. And when Sajan uses his power to attack with dexterity when unarmed, Blessing of Erastil adds two dice, while Blessing of Gorum would only add 1 die.
Sajan's power is "For your combat check, you may roll your Dexterity die (▢ and add the Magic trait) (▢ and the Fire trait); you may not play a weapon on the check."
So your character's power is essentially: "For your combat when using a knife, you may roll your Stealth die (▢ and add the finesse trait)"
And since your Stealth die is your dexterity die, you would benefit with 2 dice from Blessing of Erasitl.
See this post for documentation: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2q3h3?Amulet-of-Fists#27
Likewise, from Valeros's role card: "You may use Melee in place of Ranged when using a weapon with the Ranged trait." Valeros would still want Blessing of Gorum.
| Zoltán Mészáros |
Don't say Stealth die, as I guess you want to use the bonuses too. Or you may say Dexterity die, if you don't wan't the bonuses. Use the same wording as Valeros (as Hawkmoon already mentioned)
BTW, isn't daggers only is a bit limiting ? But since ranged weapons are already dex-based, i guess it's ok.
| alkatrazshock |
thanks that's how I thought itd work, I guess I worded it weird, this is how the ability actually reads, "when attempting a combat check with a weapon that has the knife([ ]or finesse) trait, you may use your stealth die instead." she does use a lot of bow based weapons, it was mostly for flavor, I think her 5 weapons in deck is a dagger+1, war razor+1, deathbane light crossbow, chain whip, and I think a longbow+1, and yes we used stealth so we would get the plus 2 stealth bonus, and her role will add the ranged trait to the ability as well, I wanted a flavorful ability that wasn't OP but was useful
| Hawkmoon269 |
To follow up and correct my mistake earlier when I tried to have Seoni cast Glibness and use the Wand of Force Missile with a Blessing of Pharasma only to be corrected about Glibness not applying in that situation...
The spell Swipe in Hook Mountain Massacre would work for the combo I was trying to initiate (though I could again stand corrected). If Seoni casts Swipe, plays Wand of Force Missile and uses a Blessing of Pharasma, she would be rolling 2d12 + 4d4, and the difficulty of the combat check would be reduced by 3. So you could think of it as 2d12 + 4d4 + 3. And again, Swipe would auto-recharge, the wand would auto recharge if you took her power feat. Not too bad.