| SwiftyKun |
Aslong as you have 1 drunken, temporary ki point you can spend 1 ki point, even if it's from your normal not temporary ki pool, as a swift action, to make a 5 foot step.
I've looked up other threads with this question and they all end without actually answering the question. Can you or can you not make use of this feature in the same round as you take a 5 foot step? RAW says you cannot and makes this feature 100% useless. I can't think of any scenario where this feature would come in handy.
And no, you cannot use this feature in the same round you 5 foot step in. 5 foot step says "Cannot move in the same round as a 5 foot step." not "Cannot use a move action in the same round as a 5 foot step."
I.E. making the 5 foot step feature from drunken ki impossible to use in any round you take a normal 5 foot step.
So....?
Is this one of those things where "The class specific rule overrides the generel rules"?
| PrinceDogWaterIII |
I love Monks as much as the next person but there isn't anything specifically allowing a Drunken Master to take a five foot step AND use their swift action to move an additional five feet.
So is there a question here? You know what RAW is on the matter, you've explained quite thoroughly.
You could use normal movement to move into a threaten square(No AOO) and then use your swift action to move the next five feat without provoking an AOO.
| Are |
The drunken master ability doesn't grant a 5-ft-step. Rather, it grants the ability to move 5 ft without provoking AoOs (while seemingly equal, it's never called a 5-ft-step in the ability). So you can definitely use it during a turn in which you've already moved (or where you want to move afterwards).
If you couldn't combine it with a move, then the ability wouldn't grant anything you couldn't already do with a normal 5-ft-step.
| SwiftyKun |
Now see, we're running into different ways to read it then. The way it's RAW it's either
1. The ability gives you an extra 5 movement to move that doesn't provoke AoO.
2. The ability allows 5 feet of your move action to not provoke AoO.
Also, this would make the feature completely useless anyways unless you had something like spring attack in which you could move, attack, then move again. Otherwise you can't do that anyways so moving into a threatened square and out of it again is pointless.
Is the use of this feature really to use move action to engage target, standard to attack, then swift to move 5 feet away? That's useless since they can just 5 feet step and full round you. This example would have to go with RAW #1.
Other examples would be using spring attack which again, you won't get for a while after you get this feature.
| Are |
That was one use. Some other options:
- You could use it to move 5 ft away without provoking, then take a move action (also not provoking, unless the enemy has reach), before taking a standard action of some kind.
- You could use it to move normally to within 10 ft of a creature with reach, then move 5 ft closer without provoking, before attacking. Normally, you'd have to provoke in order to get adjacent.
| SwiftyKun |
That was one use. Some other options:
- You could use it to move 5 ft away without provoking, then take a move action (also not provoking, unless the enemy has reach), before taking a standard action of some kind.
- You could use it to move normally to within 10 ft of a creature with reach, then move 5 ft closer without provoking, before attacking. Normally, you'd have to provoke in order to get adjacent.
In other words, this ability..is essentially a way to 5 foot step, albiet using a swift action, but still retain the ability to use movement with your move action in the same round.