Using metamagic rogs


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

I wonder if I need to use both hands to cast a spell with a metamagic rod, as in holding a rod in one hand and using somatic components with the other, or can I have a shield in one hand and cast with the rod in the other.
Thanks


Somatic require a free hand if I remember correctly...holding the rod would not be a free hand

Quote:

Somatic (S)

A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand. You must have at least one hand free to provide a somatic component.


As long as it is not a heavy shield or tower shield, you could hold the rod with your shield hand.


That works too

The Exchange

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

quick release shields are handy as well...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Using metamagic rogs All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.