Help Finding an FAQ (Class given powers)


Advice

Scarab Sages

I want to make sure that a sorcerer/wizard with the draconic bloodline arcana gets the extra damage when he casts wizard spells. As well as that a wizard can use Evocation/Admixture on the sorcerer spells. I believe I saw an FAQ that said that the class given powers are not limited to that class unless that is specified. Can somebody help me find that FAQ in case there is a misunderstanding?
Thank you.


There's an FAQ for that? It seems to me that magus set a precedent that unless specifically specifying a spell list, an ability functions for ALL spell lists.

Not to mention that sorcs and wizards have the same list.

Scarab Sages

Master of the Dark Triad wrote:
"It seems to me that magus set a precedent that unless specifically specifying a spell list, an ability functions for ALL spell lists."

How so?

Master of the Dark Triad wrote:
"Not to mention that sorcs and wizards have the same list."

I see.


Magi can only spell strike with magus spells (spells on that list). I believe that was specifically specified. Therefore, that's a precedent for this kind of issue.

If there was an FAQ, this isn't worth arguing about.

Scarab Sages

I understand, I wasn't trying to argue, just understand what you meant. Thank you. I see what you mean now.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook Frequently Asked Questions : Race and Class
Sorcerer: Do the bonuses granted from Bloodline Arcana apply to all of the spells cast by the sorcerer, or just those cast from the sorcerer's spell list?
The Bloodline Arcana powers apply to all of the spells cast by characters of that bloodline, not just those cast using the sorcerer's spell slots.
General rule: If a class ability modifies your spellcasting, it applies to your spells from all classes, not just spells from the class that grants the ability. (The exception is if the class ability specifically says it only applies to spells from that class.)
—Jason Bulmahn, 10/21/10

I found it. Thank you helping me with another way of seeing the case. Thanks.


Vincent The Dark wrote:
I understand, I wasn't trying to argue, just understand what you meant. Thank you. I see what you mean now.

Oh, wow. I mistook your tone I suppose. Sorry.


The default for spells is that they cross class boundaries unless the effect specifically states otherwise. For all other class abilities, the default is that they are limited to the class they come with unless they specifically say otherwise.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Help Finding an FAQ (Class given powers) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice