Staff of the Master Question


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Just a couple questions I am trying to clarify:

1) The staff states that you can apply one metamagic feat to a spell cast by the wielder of the staff by expending charges equal to the level increase of the feat. Does that include spells not cast off of the staff?

2) Are there any other PFS legal versions of the staff aside from the Necromancy version in the Core rules and Ultimate Magic? Character that I am playing would love to have one of those, but the necromancy spells are not what he would use, and supposedly in the description it states that there are other versions of the item.


1) Yes, if you know a metamagic feat you can apply it to any spell you cast without increasing the time of casting. Essentially, it works like a more versatile Rod of Metamagic in that you can apply any metatmagic feat you know and possibly more than 3/day if you have enough charges.

2) I don't do PFS so can't answer this one except to say they're very picky about "custom" magical items; if it's not in the book, it's custom and probably not allowed, notwithstanding that the description of this item explicitly states that there are other versions. But I could be wrong.


1) I would say the ability concerns all spells cast by the wielder, not only those from the staff. And it's not limited to necromantic spells.

2) I am not sure about PFS legal, but Staff of the Master says there is a version for each school of magic.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Staff of the Master Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.