Touch and Ranged Touch Spells


Rules Questions


Im having a little trouble with this probably very simple mechanic.

If casting a touch spell you use your STR stat, BAB and Spell Caster level?

If its ranged then switch STR to DEX?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A touch spell uses 1d20 + STR + BAB against an enemy's touch AC.

A ranged touch spell uses uses 1d20 + DEX + BAB against an enemy's touch AC.

I am unaware of any Caster level bonuses to hit, unless there is a specific class ability that adds that.


ok, so the touch is a separate mechanic from the actual casting of the spell. The "physical part". Thanks


rgrove0172 wrote:

Im having a little trouble with this probably very simple mechanic.

If casting a touch spell you use your STR stat, BAB and Spell Caster level?

If its ranged then switch STR to DEX?

Since it's a ranged attack, a ranged touch go to DEX.

As per DocWatson, I'm not sure what you mean with Caster Level in your question.

Silver Crusade

Right.

Its 'cast spell, and probably provoke AoO by casting close to a guy' if you're nxt to the guy. Then touch him to hit him with it.

You can however 'hold' a touch spell until you discharge it.


To add to what Spook205 mentioned about provoking: You can cast a spell defensively to avoid provoking an AoO; you roll a d20 + level + caster stat mod against a DC of 15 + twice the spell's level.


Also remember that you get the touch attack for "free" when you cast the touch spell. It's a separate action, but you don't need two standard actions to cast shocking grasp and attempt to deliver it once. If you miss, or don't take that free action, then you must deliver it via the usual methods for attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch and Ranged Touch Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions