A little help with Mythic Legendary Items


Rules Questions


I'm having some trouble understanding how a mythic legendary item goes from being a regular item at Level 1 to a minor artifact at Level 3.

If you select an item, something like one of the cloaks that gives +6 to reflex, +5 to the other two, as your Legendary Item at Mythic Level 1...when you advance to Level 3, can you select another item? If you do, what happens to the Level 1 item? Or can you select the Level 1 item again, and somehow it becomes a minor artifact?

How do you get to choose a minor artifact if you want one? Would you have to wait until you're Level 3 and then choose the same artifact twice?

To me, it's pretty confusing. I got a legendary item at Level 1. Now, at Level 3, I want something totally different, a minor artifact. Is there a way for me to do this?


Seriously...not a single person has the knowledge to help with this?


I've recently recieved my first mythic tier on one of my characters and I looked into the special item as well when I got the chance.

To me it seems like you get the one item, unless you take the ability again later, and you can then improve the item as you increase your mythic tier.

I quite agree that the rules on the item is confusing, which is why I decided to leave it alone and take another ability instead, but I doubt that we'll see clarifications on the matter any time soon.

Liberty's Edge

you are giving up a path ability to take the legendary item universal path ability. The item can be upgraded 3 times once with each taking of the path ability. So it starts off legendary becomes a minor artifact and with the 3rd taking it becomes a major artifact. whether or not you can get say 3 legendary items instead of making them into artifacts i dont know but that is how i read the ability.

personally i love it since it took weapons of legacy from 3.5 and simplified it.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Terokai wrote:

you are giving up a path ability to take the legendary item universal path ability. The item can be upgraded 3 times once with each taking of the path ability. So it starts off legendary becomes a minor artifact and with the 3rd taking it becomes a major artifact. whether or not you can get say 3 legendary items instead of making them into artifacts i dont know but that is how i read the ability.

personally i love it since it took weapons of legacy from 3.5 and simplified it.

As I understand it, you can bond to only one legendary item at a time. You can carry more than one, but you can only bond to one item.

Liberty's Edge

thats right but yea taking the path multiple time upgrades the item

Contributor

Zsz'zen wrote:

I'm having some trouble understanding how a mythic legendary item goes from being a regular item at Level 1 to a minor artifact at Level 3.

If you select an item, something like one of the cloaks that gives +6 to reflex, +5 to the other two, as your Legendary Item at Mythic Level 1...when you advance to Level 3, can you select another item? If you do, what happens to the Level 1 item? Or can you select the Level 1 item again, and somehow it becomes a minor artifact?

How do you get to choose a minor artifact if you want one? Would you have to wait until you're Level 3 and then choose the same artifact twice?

To me, it's pretty confusing. I got a legendary item at Level 1. Now, at Level 3, I want something totally different, a minor artifact. Is there a way for me to do this?

First, be patient. Mythic Rules are new and forum posters are not a service designed to answer all of your questions instantly.

Second, no. The rules specifically state that you may only possess a single legendary item at once. Picking the Legendary Item path ability multiple times upgrades the one you have.

Third, you do not "choose" a minor artifact. The item upgrades into one on its own, based upon the number of times you selected the Path ability. I believe two selections makes your Legendary Item a minor artifact while a third makes it into a Major artifact.

So, for example, let's say you want to turn your Cloak of the Free Mind into a legendary item. As your first path ability, you select Legendary Item and apply the path ability to your cloak. Awesome! You have a legendary item and may select one of the powers noted by the Legendary Item ability to bestow upon your weapon.

At a later tier, you decide that you would really like a Minor Artifact to call your own. You pick Legendary Item again and poof, your Legendary Item is now a Minor Artifact. This doesn't really grant your item any real benefits except the ability to allow your item to continue scaling past 3rd tier with your Mythic Tier as well as the Destruction Condition ability.

You CANNOT take Legendary Item once and apply it to your Cloak, then take it again later and apply it to your Sword.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A little help with Mythic Legendary Items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.