Covering Defense - Stupid question?


Rules Questions


"When you use the total defense action while using a light, heavy, or tower shield, you can provide a cover bonus to AC against all attacks to an adjacent ally your size or smaller. This cover bonus is equal to your shield’s shield bonus and lasts until the beginning of your next turn. your shield does not provide a cover bonus to reflex saves."

This means one, and only one, adjacent ally? Or any adjacent allies attacked?


To a single ally. "...an adjacent ally" not "adjacent allies" seems pretty clear.


Beopere wrote:
To a single ally. "...an adjacent ally" not "adjacent allies" seems pretty clear.

Ally # 1 is attacked. He is AN adjacent ally. Ally # 2 is attacked. He is AN adjacent ally. It doesn't look so open and shut to me.


So no answer?


Edit: It looks like you pick an ally when you call total defence and only they gets the bonus.


PoisonToast wrote:
Edit: It looks like you pick an ally when you call total defence and only they gets the bonus.

Yep, it is also saying that this ally must be adjacent whem you use that defense action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Covering Defense - Stupid question? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions