Half-Elf Racial Quality Question


Rules Questions


Arcane Training: Half-elves occasionally seek tutoring to help them master the magic in their blood. Half-elves with this racial trait have only one favored class, and it must be an arcane spellcasting class. They can use spell trigger and spell completion items for their favored class as if one level higher (or as a 1st-level character if they have no levels in that class).

Can I get an example of the items this is referring to?


Wands and Scrolls.


Source

Spoiler:
PRD wrote:

Spell Completion: This is the activation method for scrolls. A scroll is a spell that is mostly finished. The preparation is done for the caster, so no preparation time is needed beforehand as with normal spellcasting. All that's left to do is perform the finishing parts of the spellcasting (the final gestures, words, and so on). To use a spell completion item safely, a character must be of high enough level in the right class to cast the spell already. If he can't already cast the spell, there's a chance he'll make a mistake. Activating a spell completion item is a standard action (or the spell's casting time, whichever is longer) and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does.

Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.


Staffs and scrolls.
It also applies to wands if you have zero levels in your favored class.


Brf wrote:

Staffs and scrolls.

It also applies to wands if you have zero levels in your favored class.

It applies regardless, as wands are spell-trigger items.

I'm more interested in whether there's much point in using scrolls and wands without other special abilities, as they don't use the caster level of the creature activating them to determine their effect.


blahpers wrote:
Brf wrote:

Staffs and scrolls.

It also applies to wands if you have zero levels in your favored class.

It applies regardless, as wands are spell-trigger items.

I'm more interested in whether there's much point in using scrolls and wands without other special abilities, as they don't use the caster level of the creature activating them to determine their effect.

Perhaps they have a caster level of 1 from it? "As a first level character"


But wands always go off at the level they were constructed at, unless you have a feat or feature that makes them function Like staffs. So using them as a higher level character does not help, unless you do not have levels in the class that an use them.


Correct. Not terribly useful for that purpose, as you get no benefit unless you give up all of your favored class bonuses for that class.

Sczarni

Half-elf Monks can zap themselves with a wand of Mage Armor and Shield before wading into combat. At level 4 they can zap themselves with Enlarge Person and bump their unarmed strike to 2d6.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Half-Elf Racial Quality Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions