Swapping longer actions for swift actions


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

Does it seem strange that the rules don't allow (as far as I'm aware) for a single move or standard action to be replaced with a single swift action?

Especially so since you can swap a standard action for a second move action!

Swift actions were a bit of an afterthought sometime during D&D 3/3.5 from what I recall, so might this have been an oversight?

Just thought about this from looking at the discussion that the black raven is having over in the thread about weapon cords and the benefit to casters now that it uses a move action instead of a swift action, freeing up their swift action.

Sounds absurd.


I think it is intentional design to prevent more than one swift action per round.

Liberty's Edge

It's not absurd. It's intentional. If I recall correctly, I believe I read comments from the devs on it.

As a contradictory observation Avatar, why is it that they allow you to swap a standard with a move action especially since you can't swap any other type of action. hmmm?

Some decisions are just about game balance. Could this be one of them. Another hmmm...

Shadow Lodge

A "full round" is usually made up of a move action and a standard action.

A move action is less than a standard, so that makes sense that you can swap it. You don't really "swap" free actions because they're free (even with the FAQ clarification). All of that makes sense.

Got a link to the dev's comments? I'm curious.


Swift actions are deliberately once a round. The ability to convert higher level actions to swifts woukd contravene this.


Think of it this way. A quickened speel is a swift action. If you could use swift actions intead of Move and Standard actions, caster would be throwing 3 spells a round. That is a little unbalancing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swapping longer actions for swift actions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions