Animal Fury Bite damage - stack?


Rules Questions


HI!
First post :)

Ok so I wanted a really kinda lonesome character, And my DM and I came up with an Orc that was born of a female giant - granting it powerful build - as well as taking the "Sharped tusked" train for half orcs - which naturally would also apply to full orcs.

My question is, grabbing the Animal Fury rage power adds a bite attack, but does it stack (or one up the Die) if I already have one.

Example, my bite attack is a natural attack at 1d6, (1d4 for normal Upgraded to 1d6 for large, we just used the bestiary) Would it increase to a d8 with the introduction of Animal Fury?

Just a question. My barb is a grapple barb, so dealing unarmed and bite damage is what its all about.


Nothing bites twice with just one mouth, and I don't think Animal Fury lets you grow a mouth somewhere else. So no, you don't gain an additional bite attack.

As for stacking to increase the damage die, that is not explicitly stated in the ability. Generally, you can't do something that is not called for in the rules. Or put another way, the rules tell you what you can do but nowhere does it say you can increase the damage die, so you can't.

On the off-chance that someone reading this tries to argue that the rules don't say you can't increase the damage die, but it also doesn't say that half-orcs can't breathe fire or shapechange into hummingbirds at will. Rules don't have to list all the things you cannot do, they only have to list all the things you can do, and this isn't listed.

Of course, you and your GM can house rule this any way you like. My favorite might be to grow a second mouth after all. Preferably on your belly, so that when you're grappling your enemies, you can belly-bite them as an extra attack. (Just kidding, that would be weird, but now I think I'm going to make a monster that can do this - not a humanoid, I think, but rather an aberration that might initially look like a humaoid).


That's okay, 1d6+3 isn't bad at all for just extra damage every time I grapple someone. And I'd take animal Fury just cause it does the extra damage before I grapple, not because I'd get another attack.

I mean, with greater grapple at level 7 I'd do like...
R1
Bite, grapple, bite, unarmed damage.
R2
bite, unarmed damage, bite, pin.
R3
bite, Full attack (unarmed, unarmed, bite.)

that's like, 5d6+12, 4d8+20, and another 1d6+7.
Assuming no Crits, average damage, that's about... 78 dmg in three rounds.
Also Not factoring rage, or enlarge person potions.
that's not bad for level 7 eh?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Animal Fury Bite damage - stack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.