River of Wind


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If someone fails a fortitude save at the start of their turn in a river of wind, they are knocked back 20 feet. Does this provoke an attack of opportunity? In most cases, involuntary movement doesn't. But then again, in most cases of involuntary movement, that provision is explicitly stated.

RPG Superstar 2010 Top 32

No, they shouldn't provoke.


Why is that?


Unless otherwise specified, only voluntary movement provokes an attack of opportunity. Being dragged or grapple-moved, for example, does not provoke.

There are exceptions, but they're explicitly called out. Goblins knocked into the air with "Roll With It", for example, provoke while in wiffle-ball mode because Rule of Funny. (I housed another feat that let you Roll With It on those attacks, accumulating distance each time.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / River of Wind All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions