Does this work the way I'm thinking?


Rules Questions


Butterfly Sting
Dimensional Dervish
Dimensional Savant
Out Flank
Combat Reflexes
If I were to use this combination of feats with a 30 dexterity could I effectively do this


If your intention is to chain free AOOs due to granting yourself automatic crits, Butterfly Sting doesn't quite do that - you don't get the free AOO because you forfeit the first crit. It's not "crit, AOO, guaranteed crit, AOO, guaranteed crit, AOO", it's "Crit? No, next hit's a crit. Guaranteed crit, AOO"

If it's just a matter of getting free AOOs because the "second you" gets a crit and then the "first you" counts as an ally, then it might work... except you aren't in two places at the same time. You flank as if you are, because you are moving/teleporting quickly, but the "first you" isn't there anymore to make an AOO.

Long story short, you flank as if you're in 2+ places at once, but you're not actually in two places at once.


In spite of the ability to flank with yourself using Dimensional Savant, I don't think you can gain either of the benefits of Out Flank with yourself as its description says "Whenever you and an ally who also has this feat are flanking the same creature...". I don't think you can qualify with yourself being the other person who has the teamwork feat. Maybe if you had the Inquisitor's solo tactics?


Ok so basically to do this I would need an ally or to be an Inquisitor?


I'm not familiar enough with Inquisitors, but you'd need an ally, generally, yes.

Try to have a friend specialize in on-crit effects and use Picks or Scythes, you'll just feed him kills.


Ok the thanks guys I think I know what I'll be doing now.


Yes, yes you can. You do not have to be an inquisitor. Do I count as my own ally?


PrinceDogWaterIII wrote:
Yes, yes you can. You do not have to be an inquisitor. Do I count as my own ally?

I completely forgot about that FAQ


It's not an issue of being your own ally; that part is legal. It's just that you can't chain free crits into infinite AOOs (bound by CR) because you forfeit one Crit to guarantee the next. If you use Butterfly Sting, you don't get that AOO.

It could still be useful, though- you don't need Improved Critical when your crits are guaranteed, so you could dual-wield a scimitar/kukri with a Bursting Pick in your off.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does this work the way I'm thinking? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions