Witch and learning spells from a spellbook


Rules Questions


Our party just got hold of a spellbook, but i'm playing a witch. Looking at the SRD, it seems i would have to use a scroll and not a spellbook? Unless i can rip the pages out of the spellbook as a substitute scroll?


Question wrote:
Our party just got hold of a spellbook, but i'm playing a witch. Looking at the SRD, it seems i would have to use a scroll and not a spellbook? Unless i can rip the pages out of the spellbook as a substitute scroll?

You can learn spells from a spellbook the same you can from a Scroll, provided the spells from the spellbook are on the list of spells you can learn for your class.

Generally, scribing spells such as that is only available to Prepared Spellcasters, whereas Spontaneous Spellcasters don't have the luxury (though there is a magic item that allows this).


But the spell in the spellbook is destroyed right? For a witch to learn it.

Grand Lodge

Question wrote:
But the spell in the spellbook is destroyed right? For a witch to learn it.

That's correcto. Witches don't learn spells at all... they feed them to their familliars.


Witches can't learn spells from spell books, only scrolls, other familiars, the blood ritual thing and levelling.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Witch and learning spells from a spellbook All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions