Saber-Toothed Tiger


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion


Ability:
Recharge this card to add 1d6 to your combat check.

Question
Does this apply to all forms of combat?
Unarmed
Melee
Spell

Strictly by words it looks like yes. (you cast a spell as it runs in to attack).


Yes


Yep, any combat check includes spells, weapons, and even the soon-to-be released "Hugs and Kisses" promo combat cards.

Anytime you are rolling a check against a monsters' "Check to Defeat (Combat)", you may recharge your tiger to get that extra d6. This is regardless of whatever other cards you play (still subject to the 1 card per type, per check rule, of course).


Yes, you can. Any combat check. You just can't play it along with another ally card.


Glad we have that rule right then.


immortal squish wrote:

Yep, any combat check includes spells, weapons, and even the soon-to-be released "Hugs and Kisses" promo combat cards.

Anytime you are rolling a check against a monsters' "Check to Defeat (Combat)", you may recharge your tiger to get that extra d6. This is regardless of whatever other cards you play (still subject to the 1 card per type, per check rule, of course).

still subject to the 1 card per type,per character per check rule, of course

Silver Crusade

christopher thomas 842 wrote:
Yes, you can. Any combat check. You just can't play it along with another ally card.

Of course, Lini can still reveal an animal ally (including this one!) to get the extra +1d4, and then use the tiger's power to get +1d6. Her power comes from her own card, and the ally she reveals is just the "cost" of using it, so it doesn't count as playing an ally card.

Scarab Sages

The sabretooth tiger is awesome. My wife would be ecstatic if this game had more cats like that.

That is all.

Silver Crusade

Fromper wrote:
christopher thomas 842 wrote:
Yes, you can. Any combat check. You just can't play it along with another ally card.
Of course, Lini can still reveal an animal ally (including this one!) to get the extra +1d4, and then use the tiger's power to get +1d6. Her power comes from her own card, and the ally she reveals is just the "cost" of using it, so it doesn't count as playing an ally card.

I keep hoping to pick it up with Lini, but it hasn't happened yet.


Oh wow, Fromper - in your example, I thought that wold have been considered playing two allies in one encounter (a no-no).

So "playing" means leaving the card out (...as opposed to a reveal and just showing it)?


"Playing" a card means activating a power written on that card. It has nothing to do with whether the card is revealed/discarded/banished as a side-effect.

In a single check you can activate EACH (valid) character power once and play one of each type of card.

Revealing the animal is part of the 'cost' of Lini's power, but it counts as using her POWER, not playing an ALLY card.

Silver Crusade

h4ppy wrote:

In a single check you can activate EACH (valid) character power once and play one of each type of card.

This didn't occur to me, but I think you're right. Since each character can only play each type of card once per check, Lini can't use her bear form power on the same check that she uses her animal companion power, since that would be two uses of a character card by the same character on a single check. I've been playing that wrong.

EDIT: Hold it. Just checked the rulebook, and discovered that Lini can probably use both her bear shape and animal companion powers from her character card at the same time.

The exact wording, both on page 15 and on the back cover, says that each player (sic - should be character) can only use one of each type of boon on each check. A character card is not a boon, so you can use two powers from the same character card on a single check... probably.

I say "probably", because page 12, when talking about using cards to reduce damage says "Just as with attempting a check, each player may play no more than one of each card type." I think page 12 is a mistake (just like I think that the constant use of the word "player" when they mean "character" is a mistake, since one player could be playing more than one character).

For now, I'm going with the page 15 and back of the book rule that says the "one of each card type" only applies to boons, not character powers. But it would be nice to get an official clarification.

For that matter, Sajan would really suck if he couldn't use both of his character powers together. I'm going with the assumption that the "one of each type" only applies to boons.


Fromper wrote:
h4ppy wrote:

In a single check you can activate EACH (valid) character power once and play one of each type of card.

This didn't occur to me, but I think you're right. Since each character can only play each type of card once per check, Lini can't use her bear form power on the same check that she uses her animal companion power, since that would be two uses of a character card by the same character on a single check. I've been playing that wrong.

No, you can use *each* character power once per check. Lini can use both her "bear form" power and her "animal companion" power during the same check.

rulebook wrote:
Use Characters’ Powers (Optional): Players may use any powers that apply to the check. Each power may be used no more than once per check.

Silver Crusade

Heh. Ninja'd by QuantumNinja while editing myself.


Fromper wrote:

Heh. Ninja'd by QuantumNinja while editing myself.

I have a tendency to do that sometimes :)


;)

@QuantumNinja is correct - Lini can use bear form and animal power on the same check. In fact, she should be using animal power on every check if you ask me ;)

Silver Crusade

Yup - definitely. When I play Lini, I actually keep a caltrop (d4) sitting on her cards to remind me to always roll it with every check, no matter what I'm doing. And my animal friend is always the last thing left in my hand if I have to discard everything else for whatever reason. The only time I use her ability to recharge animals is when I have two in hand, so I can afford to use one's power and leave the other in hand.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Saber-Toothed Tiger All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.