enlarge person and the grid


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If i am medium, taking up 1 square on the battle grid, and i cast enlarge person on myself.......which 3 squares do i grow into? do i decide whether right or left and forward or back? or is there a default?


AFAIK, so long as one of your Large-self's squares occupies the square you were in when you were Medium, it's legal.

Sczarni

There is no facing in Pathfinder, so as far as I've played it, you get to choose.


What about the reverse? If Enlarge Person wears off, do you pick which of the four squares do you shrink back to, or do you have to note which "direction" you grew (ie. original square was bottom right) and when it wears off, you shrink into the bottom right corner of your area? Or, alternatively, if you cast Reduce Person on a Large or bigger target, who chooses the square they shrink to, the caster or the target?

Sczarni

There is no facing in Pathfinder, so as far as I've played it, you get to choose.


Like most things, if there's nothing in the rules, it defaults to what the caster of the spell wants (with regards to what spaces) so long as they are legal. When it wears off, it defaults to 'whatever the affected person desires' instead.


If this is about using class abilities to grow really big for one round then shrink back down, yes, you can basically use them to take a free 5' move. Go for it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / enlarge person and the grid All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.