Concentration in a Swarm


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

18 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Bestiary, p.313 wrote:
Swarms possess the distraction universal monster rule. Spellcasting or concentrating on spells within the area of a swarm requires a caster level check (DC 20 + spell level).

Is this an error? Or does being in a swarm really require you to make a caster level check, rather than a concentration check?


Yep.

Now you get to decide:
Are you a slavish follower of RAW?
Or a good GM that obviously knows it's supposed to be a Concentration check?

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

There are a handful of occasions that specifically call for caster level checks that never really made that much sense. Fire spells underwater? Erase? Vision?

Sovereign Court

Aaaaand bump.


Fire spells underwater makes sense for a caster level check as you'd have to alter the parameters of the spell during casting to make it function. IT wouldn't be a concentration check, since you're not simply doing the same old thing, with a distraction, but having to slightly vary the effect.


FAQ; it's probably a mistake.

Liberty's Edge

Concentration is based on caster level, but is not defined solely by caster level. In 3.5, concentration was a skill and not related directly to caster level. This is not an error related to edition change. I think it is a reasonable house rule to use concentration rather than caster level. As written, and in campaigns relying on RAW, the rule uses caster level, not concentration.


The swarm's ability is "distraction". It's pretty obvious the intent was that it, well, disrupts your concentration. It may not be an edition change error, but it may still be an error.


FAQ hit.


Distraction ability requires a save against being nauseated. So the way this all reads a spell caster could be making as many as three checks or saves. One save against nauseation. The caster/concentration check in OP. Concentration check against damage, or is the intent for that to be included in the former?

Sovereign Court

Since Paizo still hasn't addressed the issue mentioned in the OP, it's time for another bump. For old times' sake.


Best pick up this trait just in case....

Bellis Honey Harvester
Source Andoran, Spirit of Liberty pg. 18
Requirement(s) Bellis [in Andoran]
Your frequent exposure to bees—and their stings—makes all such creatures seem more like nuisances than actual threats. You gain DR 3/— against damage dealt by swarms and a +1 trait bonus on saving throws against distraction and poison from swarms.

Sovereign Court

It's this thread's two year anniversary! ...Sort of. Anyhow, FAQ, maybe?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Concentration in a Swarm All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions