Question shields.


Rules Questions


I have 2 questions about shields. My first is if I have a mithral heavy shield is it considered to be a heavy shield for the purpose of being able to use that hand to hold an item?

heavy shield wrote:
You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand. A heavy shield is so heavy that you can't use your shield hand for anything else.
mithral wrote:
Heavy armors are treated as medium, and medium armors are treated as light, but light armors are still treated as light

Mithral has no statement about what happens if a shield is made of mithral.

Second a light shield says that you can hold an item in that hand but you can't use a weapon.

light shield wrote:
You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand. A light shield's weight lets you carry other items in that hand, although you cannot use weapons with it.

While wielding a light shield could I use a metamagic rod in that hand since it isn't considered a weapon?


As far as I can see RAW indicates no change in how you'd treat the shield since heavy shield is just a name, not a classification of armor. So mithral heavy shield would still be treated as a heavy shield.

Will Prat wrote:
While wielding a light shield could I use a metamagic rod in that hand since it isn't considered a weapon

Yeah, I'd say so. You could even wield a weapon/regular-weapon, just not use it as a weapon to make an attack is what it seems to be saying.

I'm doing a bit of inferring/assumption, but I think that's pretty clear that's what their intentions are.

That all said, you might consider the GM making a house rule to make mithral shields act like a shield one type lower, but that'd be their own choice.


Not RAW, but I'd say that you could hold both the rod and the shield in that hand, but not use both in the same round. So on the round you use the rod, you get no AC bonus from the shield.

Silver Crusade

As has been said many, many times: Shields are weapons. Even Heavy Shields are weapons, as indicated on the Martial Weapon chart, the Fighter weapon group options, and many other areas. When making a shield out of Mithral you treat it as if it were a weapon, not a piece of armor.

Grand Lodge

Indeed.

A Mithral Shield also counts as silver, for the purposes of bypassing DR.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question shields. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.