Prehensile Hair to Deliver touch Attack


Rules Questions


Since this is a grey area in the rules (at least from what I gathered) it's ultimately my GM's call, but he's unavailable to ask at the moment and I want to know if there is already a clear answer that I missed:

Can prehensile hair be used to deliver touch attacks, such as that granted by shocking grasp (gained via the Elements patron)?

My hair can be manipulated as a limb, according to the hex. I haven't been able to find any entry in the rule dictating that a specific part of a person's body need to be used to make a touch attack (though we generally imagine it's done through the palm of the hand), so is this reach-applied touch attack spell legit?


Touch attacks can be made as part of an unarmed strike or natural attack per the rules for touch attacks.

Prehensile hair grants a natural attack.

Yes, it's legal.


TGMaxMaxer wrote:

Touch attacks can be made as part of an unarmed strike or natural attack per the rules for touch attacks.

Prehensile hair grants a natural attack.

Yes, it's legal.

Cool. More reason to love my favorite class.

I didn't know that touch attacks could automatically be delivered through unarmed strikes/natural attacks though. That's also nice for this character and others.


I should have also pointed out that if you deliver them with the attack, they don't target touch AC, they target normal... just to make sure I cover my base there.

Liberty's Edge

TGMaxMaxer wrote:

I should have also pointed out that if you deliver them with the attack, they don't target touch AC, they target normal... just to make sure I cover my base there.

True, but you can use any "limb" to deliver a touch attack, and the hair are a limb.

There is the problem of them being a secondary attack. There are a few confusion on how it work when a secondary attack is the only attack you make.
I have ruled that they don't suffer the -5 if the hair attack is the only one you make, but I don't think that the rules and FAQs are really clear about how that work.


Diego Rossi wrote:

There is the problem of them being a secondary attack. There are a few confusion on how it work when a secondary attack is the only attack you make.

I have ruled that they don't suffer the -5 if the hair attack is the only one you make, but I don't think that the rules and FAQs are really clear about how that work.
Universal Monster Rules -> Natural Attacks wrote:
Most creatures possess one or more natural attacks (attacks made without a weapon). These attacks fall into one of two categories, primary and secondary attacks. Primary attacks are made using the creature's full base attack bonus and add the creature's full Strength bonus on damage rolls. Secondary attacks are made using the creature's base attack bonus –5 and add only 1/2 the creature's Strength bonus on damage rolls. If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature's full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature's Strength bonus on damage rolls. This increase does not apply if the creature has multiple attacks but only takes one. If a creature has only one type of attack, but has multiple attacks per round, that attack is treated as a primary attack, regardless of its type. The natural attacks by size table lists some of the most common types of natural attacks and their classifications.
CRB Combat -> Natural Attacks wrote:
Attacks made with natural weapons, such as claws and bites, are melee attacks that can be made against any creature within your reach (usually 5 feet). These attacks are made using your full attack bonus and deal an amount of damage that depends on their type (plus your Strength modifier, as normal). You do not receive additional natural attacks for a high base attack bonus. Instead, you receive additional attack rolls for multiple limb and body parts capable of making the attack (as noted by the race or ability that grants the attacks). If you possess only one natural attack (such as a bite—two claw attacks do not qualify), you add 1–1/2 times your Strength bonus on damage rolls made with that attack.

I don't find it confusing? :-)

Liberty's Edge

If you attack with anything else that round, you'll drop to the -5 and 1/2 Strength bonus (but really your Int bonus due to prehensile hair's benefits). If you attack with only the hair, it's at full BAB and 1-1/2 Strength.


This might not be my only natural attack (I'm debating between going Changeling or Human on this) but in this case the only attack I would make would be the free touch attack from the spell, since with reach I can cast the spell from a safe distance (sans an enemy using a reach weapon) AND attack with it without having to move.

So no penalty in that scenario.

Another question: is there a rule on how much time is allowed to pass between casting the spell and makign the touch attack? I know that the Magi's pool strike ability says he can hold the charge for a minute if he misses with an attack. I assume touch spells work the same way but I haven't read anything to that effects.

(So, if I went changeling, and I was really in trouble, I would full attack with my claws and hair and just hold the charge until I hit with one of them)


Ellis Mirari wrote:

This might not be my only natural attack (I'm debating between going Changeling or Human on this) but in this case the only attack I would make would be the free touch attack from the spell, since with reach I can cast the spell from a safe distance (sans an enemy using a reach weapon) AND attack with it without having to move.

So no penalty in that scenario.

Another question: is there a rule on how much time is allowed to pass between casting the spell and makign the touch attack? I know that the Magi's pool strike ability says he can hold the charge for a minute if he misses with an attack. I assume touch spells work the same way but I haven't read anything to that effects.

(So, if I went changeling, and I was really in trouble, I would full attack with my claws and hair and just hold the charge until I hit with one of them)

Pool strike follow its own rules. If you cast, you can hold the charge indefinitely, until you deliver the spell out touch something else ( aside your weapon of you're a magus). Our if you go to sleep, iirc.


Blackstorm wrote:
Ellis Mirari wrote:

This might not be my only natural attack (I'm debating between going Changeling or Human on this) but in this case the only attack I would make would be the free touch attack from the spell, since with reach I can cast the spell from a safe distance (sans an enemy using a reach weapon) AND attack with it without having to move.

So no penalty in that scenario.

Another question: is there a rule on how much time is allowed to pass between casting the spell and makign the touch attack? I know that the Magi's pool strike ability says he can hold the charge for a minute if he misses with an attack. I assume touch spells work the same way but I haven't read anything to that effects.

(So, if I went changeling, and I was really in trouble, I would full attack with my claws and hair and just hold the charge until I hit with one of them)

Pool strike follow its own rules. If you cast, you can hold the charge indefinitely, until you deliver the spell out touch something else ( aside your weapon of you're a magus). Our if you go to sleep, iirc.

Awesome. Thanks.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Kyoni wrote:
I don't find it confusing? :-)

Because you weren't going from memory of severals debates where people was claiming that Prehensile Hair is always a secondary attack :P

I re-checked the test, and it say that "she can use it as a secondary natural attack that deals 1d3 points of damage ", but that in no way implies that they aren't a primary attack when used alone.
So the ruling I made at my he table is right, simply I hadn't read the ability well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Prehensile Hair to Deliver touch Attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions