| ajotatxe |
I have in my party a pure rogue and the player asked me if she could use a Magic Missile wand.
Does she need to pass a Use Magic Device check to do it? The rules say:
"Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell"
Well, rogues have no spell list, but they CAN cast the spell. To do so, they can pick Major Magic as a rogue talent. So, is Rogue a class that can cast 1st level wizard spells? Can they use wands with 1st level wizard spells with no check?
I decided to apply this rule: provided that the rogue DOES choose the talent and this particular spell, she can use the wand automatically. Otherwise, she must pass a UMD check. But I feel this decision as a house rule. What do you think?
Sorry for my English.
Diego Rossi
|
Spell-Like Abilities as Spells: Does a creature with a spell-like ability count as having that spell on its spell list for the purpose of activating spell completion or spell trigger items?
No. A spell-like ability is not a spell, having a spell-like ability is not part of a class's spell list, and therefore doesn't give the creature the ability to activate spell completion or spell trigger items.
—Sean K Reynolds, 08/22/11
A wand is a spell trigger item.
The recent FAQ allow you to use SLA as prerequisites for feats and even prestige classes but don't supersede that FAQ.
That said, I think that as a houserule, as long as there is a gentleman agreement between the players and the GM about not abusing it, it is a perfectly reasonable rule.