Question about keyworded magic items


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


If you have an item, say bracers, and you have them enchanted with two effects that only work with a command word;

If its the same command word can you activate both effects in the same turn?
If its a different command word can you activate both in the same turn?


Activation with a command word is a standard action, so you can't activate two in one turn.

If it's the same commandword on the same item; in effect you have one item which does two things when activated, and they can't be activated individually.

If you have multiple item's with the same command word; then ask your GM. I would allow it because it could be really cool.


The command word rules are just plain bad. Talking is a free action. A GM may impose limits on length, but a single word is always going to be a free action unless it's something like supercalifragilisticexpialodocious.

But when something reacts to it it's suddenly a standard action. It's one of the dumbest most immersion breaking things in the rules. Worse than the peasant railgun even because it comes up all the time.


Atarlost wrote:

The command word rules are just plain bad. Talking is a free action. A GM may impose limits on length, but a single word is always going to be a free action unless it's something like supercalifragilisticexpialodocious.

But when something reacts to it it's suddenly a standard action. It's one of the dumbest most immersion breaking things in the rules. Worse than the peasant railgun even because it comes up all the time.

Ah; thats annoying... well thx for the reply

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Question about keyworded magic items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion