Recent Zen Archer Clarifications?


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Just as the title says, I was wondering if there was any recent Pathfinder Errata from within the last few months that made them be able to use flurry of blows with one weapon again.

I've seen a few threads that Paizo would look into changing it back about a year ago but haven't been able to find anything about it from recently.


FAQ wrote:

Monk Flurry of Blows: When I use flurry of blows, can I make all of the attacks with just one weapon, or do I have to use two, as implied by the ability functioning similarly to Two-Weapon Fighting?

You can make all of your attacks with a single monk weapon. Alternatively, you can replace any number of these attacks with an unarmed strike. This FAQ specifically changes a previous ruling made in the blog concerning this issue.

—Jason Bulmahn, 11/30/12

Was there a problem with the Zen Archer specifically?

The Exchange

There was just an uproar apparently when they changed it to where you had to shoot and unarmed strike in order to use flurry of blows. It really relieves me that they changed it back

Liberty's Edge

The Zen archer has always been able to "flurry" with a bow. There was never, so far as I know, any requirement that the Zen Archer use multiple weapons. The only change is that other monks are now able to flurry with a single weapon.

Advanced Player's Guide wrote:

Flurry of Blows (Ex): Starting at 1st level, a zen archer can make a flurry of blows as a full-attack action, but only when using a bow (even though it is a ranged weapon). He may not make a flurry of blows with his unarmed attacks or any other weapons. A zen archer does not apply his Strength bonus on damage rolls made with flurry of blows unless he is using a composite bow with a Strength rating. A zen archer's flurry of blows otherwise functions as normal for a monk of his level.

A zen archer cannot use Rapid Shot or Manyshot when making a flurry of blows with his bow.


Crillitor wrote:
There was just an uproar apparently when they changed it to where you had to shoot and unarmed strike in order to use flurry of blows. It really relieves me that they changed it back

I don't think Zen Archers could flurry with her unarmed attakcs at all.

Liberty's Edge

I know what you're talking about Crillitor. What ended up happening was the powers that be realized how idiotic (and calling it idiotic is me being very, very nice) the ruling was and reversed it. A monk can now flurry with only a single weapon, and a zen archer can flurry with only his bow.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Now we just have to work on some of the other monk rulings, and the core class might one day be OK!


In the Monk there is an entry that when you gain Ki Pool you can do this:

At 4th level, ki strike allows his unarmed attacks to be treated as magic weapons for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction.

At 7th level, his unarmed attacks are also treated as cold iron and silver for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction.

In the Zen Archer the description say this:

At 4th level, in addition to the normal abilities of his ki pool, a zen archer may spend 1 point from his ki pool to increase the range increment for his bow by 50 feet for 1 round.

Does it means that if I use an normal Arrow with my non magical Bow it gains the effect of the Ki Strike Example: At 4th unarmed attacks threated as magic weapon for monk does it means it does this for the Zen Archer arrows ?

The Exchange

Greamlive wrote:
Does it means that if I use an normal Arrow with my non magical Bow it gains the effect of the Ki Strike Example: At 4th unarmed attacks threated as magic weapon for monk does it means it does this for the Zen Archer arrows ?

No. Overcoming DR only applies to the Unarmed Strikes of a Zen Archer. Bear in mind that the Zen Archer still gets Improved Unarmed Strike and increases his unarmed attack damage as he levels up. He just can't flurry with unarmed strikes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Recent Zen Archer Clarifications? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions