DC of 'casting' Laughing Touch defensively


Rules Questions


So, the 1st level Fey Bloodline Power, Laughing Touch, is labeled as a spell-like ability. This means that 'casting' it will provoke an attack of opportunity.

However, as far as I can tell there it isn't actually spelled out as being based on any specific spell. Since it isn't based on a spell like most spell-like abilities, how am I supposed to calculate the DC of casting it defensively? Shouldn't this thing be a supernatural ability instead of a spell-like ability?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

The rules quoth:

If a character class grants a spell-like ability that is not based on an actual spell, the ability’s effective spell level is equal to the highest-level class spell the character can cast, and is cast at the class level the ability is gained.


RJGrady wrote:

The rules quoth:

If a character class grants a spell-like ability that is not based on an actual spell, the ability’s effective spell level is equal to the highest-level class spell the character can cast, and is cast at the class level the ability is gained.

Cool, I thought there was something like this somewhere in the rules, but I couldn't find it. What section of the core rulebook is this in?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Special Abilities, at the tail of the Magic section.


RJGrady wrote:
Special Abilities, at the tail of the Magic section.

Thanks! Don't know how I missed that...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / DC of 'casting' Laughing Touch defensively All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions