| Leisner |
Leisner left off the sentence after the one quoted.
This evolution can only be applied to the limbs (legs) evolution once This evolution can be selected more than once, but the eidolon must possess an equal number of the limbs evolution.
Yes, but that sentence (which lacks a full stop, and hence my quote was a full sentence) really doesn't matter in this case. The question isn't about have more than one set of claws, but more than one set "leg claws".
| Beowulfe |
The OP asked if a Summoner with quadruped could take claws twice, once for each set of legs. Reading the rules, then yes he could take it twice giving 4 attacks. It cannot be taken more than once per set of legs. If the OP was asking something different, then I apologize.
Deadmoon. Claws can only be put on legs. Bipeds get one set of arms and one set of legs so they would only be able to get 4 claws. They could take pinchers and claws still resulting in 4 attacks but different weapons.
| Leisner |
The OP asked if a Summoner with quadruped could take claws twice, once for each set of legs. Reading the rules, then yes he could take it twice giving 4 attacks. It cannot be taken more than once per set of legs. If the OP was asking something different, then I apologize.
Deadmoon. Claws can only be put on legs. Bipeds get one set of arms and one set of legs so they would only be able to get 4 claws. They could take pinchers and claws still resulting in 4 attacks but different weapons.
Where did you get that idea?
The quote is:
Claws (Ex)An eidolon has a pair of vicious claws at the end of its limbs, giving it two claw attacks. These attacks are primary attacks. The claws deal 1d4 points of damage (1d6 if Large, 1d8 if Huge). The eidolon must have the limbs evolution to take this evolution. This evolution can only be applied to the limbs (legs) evolution once This evolution can be selected more than once, but the eidolon must possess an equal number of the limbs evolution.
Which states that you can only apply the claw evolution once to the evolution Limbs (legs), but says nothing about any limit on Limbs (arms), other than it must have as many limbs as claws, excluding any limbs (legs) beyond the first.
The rules also clearly state that you cannot put claws on legs more than once.
So, no, a quadruped, without any added limbs (arms), cannot get more than one set of claws.
And, yes, a biped can get another claw evolution, so it has one on each of its set of limbs, but can't actually use all those attacks before level 4.
If you want to maximise your biped's potential damage output early on, give it a zweihänder to wield with its arms, claws on its legs, and a bite attack with its head. And if you don't want to waste a feat on a fauchard (best two-handed weapon there is), because you don't want to use a weapon later on, use the weapon training evolution and grab a long spear, you can always switch out your evolutions when you level.
Why reach weapons? Because with your natural weapons, you can hit stuff both far away, and close up. And double bonus when using large size biped reach.