| existence123 |
Hi,
Questions, questions, always questions...
1) Was running some practice battles tonight. My friend was using his elven wizard, who likes to use a shortbow. He was wondering whether he could use a shortbow and cast spells. I said probably not, since the shortbow requires two hands. Would he be able to hold the shortbow in one hand to free up a hand for dramatic wizardly gesturing? If so, would "relaxing" from the two-handed ready position cost a move action, and would resuming from the relaxed position back to a two-handed ready position cost a move action as well?
2) To cast Sleep, you select an origin point for the 10 foot radius burst. Does the caster have to be able to see this point?
3) Say Valeros the Unfortunate has an enemy on either side. These two enemies are flanking him and get +2 to hit. If a third enemy moves adjacent to him, does he also get the flanking bonus, even though he isn't exactly opposite an ally?
| existence123 |
Thanks guys, I appreciate the help.I have a few more questions if you don't mind:
1) When I as GM roll initiative for monsters, do I roll separately for each monster, or once per monster type?
2) When a character gets his extra attack, say the fighter at level 6, this extra attack is with his primary weapon, right? And he must expend a full round action to get both attacks?
3) Burning hands affects a 15 foot cone-shaped area. When rolling damage, does the caster roll once and apply this amount to each creature in the cone? How about a power like the cleric's Channel Energy? Roll once or separately?
| DonDuckie |
1) The system expects you to roll for each creature. I roll once per group of enemies. Lately I've considered just assuming they simply rolled 10 and let the players roll.
2) Yes, must use full round action for more than one attack.
3) roll once - apply full result to each. Unless they make their save, in which case apply half(rounded down).
| existence123 |
DonDuckie,
Wow, ok thanks for setting me straight on number 1. That seems to make a pretty big in-game difference; which side it benefits might be unpredictable but a battle is definitely going to play out differently depending on which method you use. I have to say that the aesthete in me likes the idea of each monster having a different initiative number, but this does introduce an additional layer of bookkeeping.
On a broader note, I'm really enjoying the tactical minis side of Pathfinder. This game is wild and wooly with its many rules, powers, modifiers and special cases, but I have to say I enjoyed just setting up a few battles and playing through them.
Thanks again for the help.
| DonDuckie |
You're welcome.
Alternative to assuming all 10s, you could use different values: 10, 5, 15, 7, 12, 2, 17, ... or simply roll in advance as part of prep - this I do with 'secret' skill checks and saves, so my players don't needlessly panic when I roll the dice - I think the 3.5 DM's Guide suggested dummy rolls.
| Gauss |
Clarification on the Extra Attack question: The extra attack can be with any weapon the character has. If the Fighter has two weapons (for example, sword and shield) he can make 1 attack with the sword and another with the shield.
Example: Fighter 6 has +6/+1 BAB giving him two attacks, a Longsword, and a Shield. He can do the following:
A) Attack with Longsword at +6 and then again at +1.
B) Attack with his shield at +6 and then again at +1.
C) Attack with Longsword at +6 and then shield at +1.
D) Attack with Shield at +6 and then Longsword at +1.
So long as the Fighter is not gaining any extra attacks above his BAB limits (or boosts via spells such as haste) he is not Two-Weapon Fighting with its associated penalties etc.
- Gauss
| existence123 |
Gauss, thank you. I didn't realize that was the case. So even though our fighter 6 has the shield in his off-hand, he doesn't suffer any penalty.
So how does actual two-weapon fighting figure into that example? Could fighter 6 make
*three* attacks, since he gets two anyways and then a third for two-weapon fighting? Or is that wrong thinking?
| existence123 |
Thanks Gauss, I've bookmarked that page as it seems to contain lots of great stuff.
I have one more question if I might test your patience. :)
In Sean's example, he posits a PC w/longsword and light mace. I totally get what he's saying about the extra attack: when you're just getting the attacks you're normally entitled to, no two-weapon fighting penalties. Check. But in his last example, he talked about our +6/+1 BAB fighter making three attacks at +6, +1, and +6. But shouldn't the penalties apply here, since he's getting an extra attack? Or was he just listing the base modifiers before any two-weapon fighting penalties were applied?