Raise the Dead HD requirements


Rules Questions


When using the Bones Oracle's Raise the Dead revelation, does the summoned creature's Hit Dice equal the oracle's level regardless of any modifiers or does it mean an oracle can only summon a creature up to his level in Hit Dice?

For example, if an oracle is level 7 and wanted to summon a fast zombie of some sort, would the fast zombie he summoned have 7 HD regardless of the bonus HD granted by zombie size modifiers, or would the creature have to have no more than 7 HD after he summoned it (i.e. he can summon a large creature with a base HD of 5, then add on the 2 bonus HD from large, but he can't summon a medium creature of 7 HD because the bonus HD would put it at 8 HD)?

Basically, are the HD limits a lose excess sort of thing, or a hard cap after modifiers?


Anyone?


I think the rules are quite clear in this point.

"The undead creature has a number of Hit Dice equal to your oracle level."

'Has' would mean after all bonus HD are added


That's... Not really clear at all, because it doesn't specify whether it has up to 7 hd, has 7 hd flat, or if the creature can't be created if it would exceed 7 hd with modifiers.


If your creature has more than 7 HD (including bonus HD) you cannot summon it at lv 7.

If you want to summon a creature with less than 7 HD at lv 7, your GM should agree.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Raise the Dead HD requirements All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions