Weapon features and combat maneuvers (attack of opportunity)


Rules Questions


Hi all!
I have a doubt in order to combat maneuver rules.
The genaral rule say: "Unless otherwise noted, performing a combat maneuver provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of the maneuver". Some feats (such as improved disarm) solve the problem.
If I remember well, in d&d 3.5 rules, a weapon with the feature (for example) disarm does not provoke attacks of opportunity, even without the appropriate feat.
This rule works even in pathfinder? For example, the "disarm" combat maneuver rule say: "You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver".
So, if I try a disarm combat maneuver check with a flail (that have disarm and trip feature) without the feat "improved disarm", my opponent has the right to do an attack of opportunity against me?

Im very sorry for my bad english.
Thank you all, bye!

Grand Lodge

Disarm weapon feature gives a +2 bonus on Combat Maneuver Checks to disarm an enemy.

This is all it does.

It does not prevent an Attack of Opportunity.


That is also all it did in 3.5. Must have been a houserule Will.

Liberty's Edge

For disarm, 3.5 never allowed you to avoid the AoO as it was assumed you were disarming with a weapon anyway (though it was also possible to do unarmed with a -4 penalty).

However, for Trip, using a Trip weapon did allow you to avoid the AoO:

3.5 SRD wrote:
Tripping with a Weapon: Some weapons can be used to make trip attacks. In this case, you make a melee touch attack with the weapon instead of an unarmed melee touch attack, and you don’t provoke an attack of opportunity. If you are tripped during your own trip attempt, you can drop the weapon to avoid being tripped.

I don't believe this was carried through to PF.

Sczarni

Whoa. good to know DigitalMage!

So you're saying, if I as a Monk, use a Kama to trip my opponent, I won't provoke an AoO? If I get that Kama enchanted to give me +4 on attack/damage, does it's bonus apply to CMB as well?

Grand Lodge

That is for 3.5, not Pathfinder.

He noted so in the post.


List of weapon properties in Pathfinder and what they do.

Sczarni

Ah i see. Thanks Blackblood. I got my hopes up too quickly!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Weapon features and combat maneuvers (attack of opportunity) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions