Magus spell combat: AoO?


Rules Questions


If the Magus casts a spell that isn't an attack, does he still incur an attack of opportunity?


yes of course he does. would reccomend casting on the defensive.

Shadow Lodge

If he doesn't cast defensively, yes. He is casting a spell.


Thanks. I didn't see anything reiterating this on d20PFSRD, so I thought I'd ask.
I keep forgetting that casting defensively is an option.


Remember, it's the casting that provokes, not the nature of the spell. Furthermore, if the spell happens to require a ranged attack to hit with it (ie. a ray), that ranged attack itself also provokes. So if you cast Scorching Ray, you provoke once just for casting, then again for launching it. By contrast, if you cast Sleep, you just provoke once for the casting. By contrast, if you cast Scorching Ray defensively, you don't provoke for casting, but you still provoke for launching it.


And that's only if it doesn't involve a melee attack, right? Like a melee touch attack spell does not incur an attack of opportunity?

Lantern Lodge

Melee touch attack spells incur an AoO when they are casted, but not they they are delivered. 1 AoO.

Ranged touch attack spells incur an AoO when they are casted, AND when they are delivered. 2 AoO

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus spell combat: AoO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions