Reach Weapon Question


Rules Questions


So Reach Weapon States:

d20 wrote:
Reach Weapons: A reach weapon is a melee weapon that allows its wielder to strike at targets that aren't adjacent to him. Most reach weapons double the wielder's natural reach, meaning that a typical Small or Medium wielder of such a weapon can attack a creature 10 feet away, but not a creature in an adjacent square. A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack a creature 15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away.

So then when my character has a reach weapon he can attack like this...

(copy and pasted from another topic)
R R R R R
R X X X R
R X P X R
R X X X R
R R R R R
R = Reach Attack Area
X = Not attackable Area
P = Player
* Assume each letter is a 5 ft square on a grid

My question is this: If an ally is in one of those X's, and an enemy is in the R right in front of him, can i attack through the ally's square to hit the enemy? A friend and i wanted to make a cool combo with his tanky character in front and myself tripping in the back...

Grand Lodge

Adventure Path Charter Subscriber

Yes, but the enemy has soft cover, which is a -4 to your attack (or a +4 to their AC, whichever).

-Skeld


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

In answer to the question you're asking: yes. The target in an R square has cover.

I will point out that unless you are using the 3.5 reach exception (many people do), the four corner "R" squares are not in reach.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

This might help.
PFSRD Size, Reach, Space

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reach Weapon Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions