Metmagic Axe Handle


Rules Questions


I have a Dwarven Cleric who is about to buy a metamagic rod (For purposes of discussion doesn’t matter which one.) He has a Dwarven War Axe non-magical; Could he replace the axe handle with a metamagic rod. According to descriptions they are the same size.


I dont think so, but I would ask your GM.

Grand Lodge

Up to your DM. If you're asking this in the context of PFS play, the answer is no.


A rod also isn't just a piece of wood. It is a magic item, and trying to jam an axehead onto could damage it as to be unusable. Also, there is an activation step, which might not work quite right after this "modification".

What it sounds like you want is a custom magic item that is a blend of magic weapon and rod, and there are rules for crafting such an item, but it won't be cheap. The net gain is that you can still hold a item in your offhand (like a shield) and have your weapon and rod out. This would save you from needing Quick Draw, or other such additional resources, so it might be worth it in the long run.


LazarX

I don't disagree with you and I would like the answer in terms of PFS play. So specifically why not. The character would be buying the rod new, as such it could be created in any shape desired. Placing it into a non-magical weapon would alleviate any magical non-compatibility issues. Or the character could have a war axe built around the rod?

Thank you all for your responses


By RAW, you can't use a manufactured weapon (or even part of one) as a combination of a metamagic rod. No such item exists, and there aren't rules to properly simulate it.

In terms of RAI, I'd treat the combined item as a double weapon in terms of enhancements, abilities, and value, as I think that best simulates what you're looking for. It's a cool concept flavor-wise, but it's difficult to pull off.


Gherrick

Your last paragraph is exactly the issue. Do you think even if the axe is not magical it would still be a blended item? How much would it cost do you think?


By RAW, you can't use a manufactured weapon (or even part of one) as a combination of a metamagic rod. No such item exists, and there aren't rules to properly simulate it.

I think this is correct and I am working RAW, and there are no such rules as such per PFS does that mean they can't exist?


There's the Weaponwand spell. It lets you put a wand in a weapon. You could make a magic axe or similar with that spell to let you store a rod inside.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/w/weaponwand


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I am not saying that I am agreeing that it should be allowed, but in the rods description it says that they are "sturdy items" and can "function as light maces or clubs due to their hardy construction."

Now this does not say that it can be made into an axe handle, but it does not prohibit it unless I am missing something. Again, it seems like a DM call to me.


If it were my call, I'd say yes, but it ust be custom made. That would mean he would hae to commission it and then wait the amount of time in-game to obtain the item. Stores dont typically stock in metamagic axe handles.


Hendelbolaf wrote:

I am not saying that I am agreeing that it should be allowed, but in the rods description it says that they are "sturdy items" and can "function as light maces or clubs due to their hardy construction."

Now this does not say that it can be made into an axe handle, but it does not prohibit it unless I am missing something. Again, it seems like a DM call to me.

You misquoted that sentence. The entire sentence reads: "Many, as noted in their descriptions, can function as light maces or clubs because of their hardy construction."

It must note in the description that it can function as a weapon. For example, the Rod of the Python which can be used as a +1 Quarterstaff. In a home game I might let you craft a rod into a weapon, but the weapon would have to be created that way by someone with both feats. In PFS you cannot do this because no custom items are allowed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Metmagic Axe Handle All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions