Mounted combat questions


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Hello all :)

I'm currently making a samurai who wants to change in on his Camel "Ishtar" with a lance.

I'm seeing some problems here:

"If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge."

The words, "at the end of the charge" bother me. That would mean that my camel would charge up next to it, bite it and I'd now be unable to use my lance (reach weapon) "at the end of the charge" to attack.

That's problem number one stated.

Now problem number two:

I want Ishtar to be a cranky camel who likes to just run right over folks and knock them on their butts :) For that I'm giving her Improved Overrun. Problem with the lance persists.

Do I:
a) attack when I am within "reach" and then Ishtar runs him over?
b) attack after Ishtar has knocked him over as we pass out the other side?
c) not get to attack at all?

"You do not provoke an attack of opportunity when performing an overrun combat maneuver." But do I, on the back of Ishtar (who is making the move), provoke as we move through? What about leaving the square behind the prone (or not prone) defender? Does that provoke for her as well?

These may well have been answered somewhere and I'd be delighted if someone could point that out :)

As it stands, I see no way to actually "charge" with a lance that doesn't require about three feats. Weird! :)


One: Until you have ride-by-attack you would have to choose which one of you are going to charge. The movement associated with charge will cause your movement to end when the attack is made. This must be made in the first square that you are able to do so. So, because the mount can't reach, and because you can't move after the charge attack, you will have to pick one.

This would not be the case if you used a non-reach weapon. You could attack with both.

Once you gain ride-by-attack, you can continue moving after the charge, so moving close enough for the mount to attack should not be a problem.

Two: This is basically covered by the ride-by-attack as well. Without ride-by-attack, you would attack at the end of the movement if you are still within reach. If you have ride-by-attack, you can attack anytime during the overrun attempt as long as you did it as part of a charge.

I believe that you and your mount provoke attacks of opportunity equally in regards to movement. Meaning that you would not provoke from the target of the overrun attempt. Ride-by-attack explicitly states that you and your mount would not suffer an AoO should you charge with that feat.

The Exchange

I'm still not clear how you can charge (forget overrun for now) with a lance. This "should" be doable without the need for any feats.

The Exchange

I mean, you should be able to go from point A to point B and charge something with a lance without the need for any feats at all.

Not looking to do anything fancy here, just shove up a lance up some bad guys at maximum velocity ;)


It is, you just have to stop 2 squares away from the target. You can't have you AND your mount attack at the same time unless your mount has reach. No feat required.

The Exchange

"If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge."

So, "at the end of the charge" you can make your charge attack. How can you pull short on a charge?


A charge ends,"

Charge:
Rule 1: "Charging, however, carries tight restrictions on how you
can move."
Rule 2: "You must move to the closest space
from which you can attack the opponent" This means the closest space from the START of the charge, not the closest space NEXT TO the target.
Rule 3: "After moving, you may make a
single melee attack."

If you combine all of them, you get:

You have to stop 10' away from your target when charging with a lance (rule 2) and make your attack (rule 3). Your mount cannot attack because it cannot reach (rule 3 as you can't move after the attack).

That is all there is to it. You then get +2 to attack and double damage and you don't have to use a feat.

The Exchange

Rule 2: "You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent"

This is where I see the problem lying. The camel charges (with you on its back). It, "must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent", which means it must go into base contact as that is the closest space from which it can attack.

I personally think this is how it should work, but it's not how it's worded. Either that of you attack at 10feet and it completes its move. Either way. Just as it is written now, it's a mess :)


You just can't do it all without feats. It works exactly as you want it too (both getting attacks on charge), until you add a reach weapon. Once you do, you have to apply all the rules. And then you can add some feats and do even more stuff.

For no feats you get double damage, it just costs you the mount's attack that round.

The Exchange

Okay, thanks. I just didn't see how a camel could declare a charge and then stop 10 feet away so the lance could hit. I thought it would need to go right up to the target of the charge.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mounted combat questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions