Half in and half out of an Antimagic Field


Rules Questions


Okay, I hate to bring up antimagic field, I really do. This is only going to focus on the 'Should a creature be larger than the area enclosed by the barrier, any part of it that lies outside the barrier is unaffected by the field,' part of the spell though.

In the current campaign the party is battling the big Great Wyrm Red Dragon and the druid has shapechanged into a beholder. Basically he's got the Antimagic ray 'cutting' the red dragon in half. I've looked over tons of posts and got some really good ideas but I need to make sure I go for as much clarity as possible. Also, please trust that I know whether the party is able to do this in this campaign, they are.

If the dragon has spells up, such as mage armor or shield those will still be effective on the exterior (non AMF) portions. If the dragon is protected by a magical item however, say a ring of cold resistance and that particular item is definitely inside the field, will it still function on the exterior part of the dragon while it's suppressed? How much or what parts of the body needs to be outside of the AMF for the dragon to cast spells? Breathe fire?

My player says that a character is homogenous, meaning if he even touches his big toe into an AMF it means all spells on him are suppressed and any items, like bags of holding are similarly suppressed. I don't agree, but I am mentioning the option.

For the most part, I can easily rule on most occurrences except ones that might change a creature's form. For instance, if a medium-size druid changed into a large-sized creature and is half-in half-out of the field. Does he stay in one shape or the other? Does he look like a horrible hybrid abomination (half large bear taking up two squares outside the AMF and half medium human taking up one square inside it?

I really need some good examples or points to help ease the player's mind on how it works or why it is the best ruling for whichever way I decide.


Isn't the Beholder's version of Antimagic Field an exception to this?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Since there is no precise facing/location mechanic in PF, the short answer is that any portion of a creature that is outside an AMF has all magic working, and any portion inside it doesn't. So attacking the bit of the dragon outside the field means that any rings, spells or other items work on attacks made to hit those squares.

Also, since there is no facing, the dragon can still cast spells and use its breath weapon, because it is effectively turning to get its head and forelegs out of the field. They get suppressed if they pass into the field, but nothing can stop it using them.


OP, the bolded statement in your post clearly implies that your player's idea of "if his toe touches the AMF everything is surpressed" is incorrect.

It will take a bit of doing but figure out what items (if any) lie within the AMF, those cease to function. The dragon will be able to manuever himself to be able to cast spells and use his breath weapon while avoiding the AMF. Buffs or other items not within the field continue to funciton, but attacks directed against parts of the dragon within the field would not receive the benefit of those buffs. Don't forget to remind your players that attacks against the part of the dragon in the AMF don't receive any magical bonus either (since they would be within the field during the attack).

Seriously though, AMF that doesn't cover an entire creature is a PITA to adjudicate.


Technically the dragon could also probably 'squeeze' into that unaffected area if it didn't mind taking the penalty. Though honestly a smart dragon would set it up so the characters have to cope with the AMF. Typically dragons have the upper hand when it comes to number of attacks and deal decent 'non magical' damage and have good mundane defenses. And that is if there is some reason they aren't flying and raining breath weapon-y death upon the party.


Are you using the 3.5 version of Shapechange, because the PF version doesn't give you generic supernatural abilities and you can only turn into humanoids, plants, animals, magical beasts, or elementals.

No constructs. No outsiders. No aberrations. No undead. Etc. Only the types above. You get only the abilities the sub-spells specifically give you as well.


Quote:
Are you using the 3.5 version of Shapechange

Yes, but the wording for AMF interaction with magical effects is the same. How they're creating the effect isn't what's important, it's how a creature functions when half in and half out.

I can handle most of the magical situations that come up. I now just have to adjudicate whether magic items provide their effects if they are on a creature and they are in the field while the creature is half in/half out. For instance, the ring of protection is on the creature's left hand and its left side is in the field (I understand facing isn't a factor but still...) or I suppose a better example might be if the AMF area was across the floor at a 3 foot height, would character's magical boots still provide their benefits since half the character is outside?

Thanks for the input guys. Finishing the encounter tonight and it looks like the great wyrm will be largely unhindered by their tactic.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Half in and half out of an Antimagic Field All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions