Large two-handed weapon question


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Had a random thought and started being curious. How many arms are required for a medium sized creature to carry a large two hander? I remember seeing that it was 3 somewhere, but have been unable to find that thread. Anyone know?


To _carry_ one, you only need one hand. To _wield one, you need a special ability that allows you to do that and I don't think there's any such ability.


Ilja wrote:
To _carry_ one, you only need one hand. To _wield one, you need a special ability that allows you to do that and I don't think there's any such ability.

Right. RAW there is no such ability in PF.


Nope. AFIAK there's no Monkey Grip and/or Zwiehander feats in Pathfinder.


It can be argued that the intent of the Titan Mauler Barbarian archetype was such, but it does not explicilty grant that ability and the there is no MOnkey Grip feat or equivalent or item that allows you to do so. Technically it is impossible for a medium creature to wield a large two handed weapon.

A medium creature could wield a large one handed item in two hands or a huge light weapon in two hands. You will however notice that the damage will pretty much stay the same.

Grand Lodge

The author of Titan Mauler has a "fix", to make the archetype work as originally intended.

Note: His fix is not official. It is RAI though.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

The author of Titan Mauler has a "fix", to make the archetype work as originally intended.

Note: His fix is not official. It is RAI though.

Agreed, because without the fix the archetype isn't really worth it. Everyone wanted the archetype to allow allow them to wield gigantic two-handed weapons, which was the intention, but it didn't actually grant it as intended.


There's a tiefling option (#16) that lets you wield large-sized weapons with no penalty. It's one of the options that replaces your spell-like ability, but requires you spend your 1st-level feat on "Fiendish Heritage".

Grand Lodge

You do not need the "Fiendish Heritage" feat to access alternate Tieflings.

This was a change in the recent Tiefling book, and even so in PFS.

Also, the lack of penalties does not allow the Tiefling to wield two-handed large weapons.

Just already wieldable large weapons without penalty.


blackbloodtroll wrote:
You do not need the "Fiendish Heritage" feat to access alternate Tieflings.

Is that so? That's cool. I suppose that's probably due to the aasimar options (which don't require a "Celestial Heritage" feat to access).

blackbloodtroll wrote:

Also, the lack of penalties does not allow the Tiefling to wield two-handed large weapons.

Just already wieldable large weapons without penalty.

Oh, I interpreted it differently. Essentially, what I thought it meant was that you were considered both medium and large sized for purposes of determining what weapons you can wield. It does, however, refer to a "penalty", which would seem to indicate that it refers only to those large weapons you could already wield (such as a large one-handed weapon).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Large two-handed weapon question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions