Grappling and "Ankle Biter"


Rules Questions


Suppose Gobbo McGee is grappling Fighter McFight. If Fighter McFight successfully breaks the grapple, does that trigger Gobbo's Ankle Biter Feat? Here's the relevant text:

"If you are grappled, you can attempt to break the grapple as a standard action by making a combat maneuver check (DC equal to your opponent's CMD; this does not provoke an attack of opportunity) or Escape Artist check (with a DC equal to your opponent's CMD)."

Ankle Biter:
If you are the target of a combat maneuver you can, as an immediate action, attempt to bite your opponent in addition to any attacks of opportunity or other consequences your opponent might incur from attacking you. This bonus natural attack does not provoke an attack of opportunity itself and deals base damage appropriate for a creature of your current size (usually 1d4 for Small creatures). If grappled or pinned, you can continue to make this additional bite attack each round as swift action on your turn. You gain a bonus on any attempt to break the grapple equal to the damage you dealt with your bite that round.

The bolded text makes me think no. Thanks!


Goblins do it in the street!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grappling and "Ankle Biter" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions