Alchemists, extracts, potions and Other Fun Things...


Rules Questions


The rules in the APG list the formulae for extracts, but the Alchemist class has the Brew Potion feat from first level. Are the potions an Alchemist can create limited to the formula list, or can an alchemist create a potion for spells from the Core Rulebook like a wizard can?

I ask because it seems clear that potions are different from extracts and I'd like to see if an Alchemist can brew a potion of Mage Armor.

Any and all feedback is appreciated.


Alchemists are not considered 'casters' for the purposes of meeting the prerequisites for most of the Craft feats (of which Brew Potion is one - sort of, just a different name).

In the case of Brew Potion, the class overrides the prerequisite but according to the specific ability that grants the feat, it states they can only brew potions that are on their list of formulae.

So RAW, I would say no - they could not make a potion based on a spell that doesn't appear on their list.


Thanks. I'll keep that in mind. I'm building a level 1 Alchemist for an upcoming campaign and I wanted to make sure I was clear on the rules regarding potions vs extracts.


Note that if you're playing in an unmoderated (i.e., non-Pathfinder Society game), your GM might rule differently. For example, I usually consider alchemists as casters in my games and allow them to use Brew Potion like any other caster would.


Xaratherus wrote:
Note that if you're playing in an unmoderated (i.e., non-Pathfinder Society game), your GM might rule differently. For example, I usually consider alchemists as casters in my games and allow them to use Brew Potion like any other caster would.

Brew potion feat says essentially the same thing that the brew potion extraordinary ability says: the creator must know the spell. An alchemist cannot know spells that are not on their formula list.

I can see several select spells making sense to be given to alchemist that Paizo missed, but allowing any spell (that is a buff or touch spell at least—i.e. any spell that is feasibly explained by an extract) indiscriminately to be learned by an alchemist is wrong. Are you saying something else and it just came out wrong, or what?


I said what I meant, but what I said was wrong. >.< I did not realize that potions were in the list of items exempted from the "+5 if you don't know the spell" caveat on magic item creation.


Xaratherus wrote:
Note that if you're playing in an unmoderated (i.e., non-Pathfinder Society game), your GM might rule differently. For example, I usually consider alchemists as casters in my games and allow them to use Brew Potion like any other caster would.

Of course, if you're playing in a PFS game, the question doesn't come up, since there's no Crafting. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemists, extracts, potions and Other Fun Things... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions