Are enhancement bonuses magical?


Rules Questions


This question applies to weapon, armor, and shield enhancement bonuses.

For example:
I have a +5 falcata and have the unfortunate problem of walking into an anti-magic zone.

Would my falcata still provide +5 to my attack and damage rolls?

or

Would it function simply as a masterwork weapon providing +1 to attack and damage rolls?


Siren's Mask wrote:

This question applies to weapon, armor, and shield enhancement bonuses.

For example:
I have a +5 falcata and have the unfortunate problem of walking into an anti-magic zone.

Would my falcata still provide +5 to my attack and damage rolls?

or

Would it function simply as a masterwork weapon providing +1 to attack and damage rolls?

Masterwork only boosts hit not damage.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

It would be treated as a masterwork weapon, +1 to hit (only).

"Magic items with continuous effects do not function in the area of an antimagic effect, but their effects are not canceled (so the contents of a bag of holding are unavailable, but neither spill out nor disappear forever)."

Sovereign Court

Your Falcata would only count as a Masterwork Falcata in an anti-magic field. So you'd only get a bonus of +1 to hit from it.

If you leave the Antimagic Field then it would revert back to its +5 state.


Thank you everyone for your replies! Looks like I should avoid staying in such zones too long :)


Same goes for everything else you are wearing, that ring of armor is now just a shiny bauble.

Sovereign Court

Depends on your character and what exactly your doing. If your a melee fighter those can be some very safe places to be.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Are enhancement bonuses magical? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions