
![]() |

My alchemist has the tentacle discovery.
Note that the tentacle does not give extra attacks, but can be used in place of a normal attack. A tentacle is normally considered a secondary attack per the natural attack chart. However, the tentacle discovery does not grant it as a secondary natural, and is only used in place of another attack. If I use it as an Attack of Opportunity, do I apply the penalties normally applied to secondary attacks (-5 to hit, x.5 strength bonus)? Or would it receive normal full attack bonus, x1 strength for its attack?

Avianfoo |

There is also the rule that states if a creature has only one natural attack (or multiple of the same type) it is a primary attack.
The alchemists tentacle attack is rather limited and can be used as his only attack... so it would be a primary attack, in my mind. Though I am suddenly unsure if it gets x1.5 Str mod or the normal x1.0 Str mod.

![]() |

Well, it is not the only natural attack that my alchemist has. He also tends to have the Gore from Helm of the Mammoth Lords, and his 2 claws and a bite from Feral Mutagen. However, on an AoO, only the one attack can be utilized. This same question would also be applicable when limited to just a standard action. If I only use the tentacle attack (in place of my monk enabled unarmed strike), is this a full attack bonus attack?

SlimGauge |

However, on an AoO, only the one attack can be utilized. This same question would also be applicable when limited to just a standard action. If I only use the tentacle attack (in place of my monk enabled unarmed strike), is this a full attack bonus attack?
This is HAVE vs CAN USE. It doesn't matter how many you USE, what matters is how many you HAVE. If you HAVE gore, two claws, a bite and a tentacle but only USE the tentacle, if the tentacle isn't already a primary attack it doesn't get bumped up to one.