Magus Claws


Rules Questions


I'm playing a magus with a draconic sorcerer dip. Spellcombat says you need to keep one hand empty, so can I use spellcombat and attack with my claw?


Bump.


Yes, I believe they even did an FAQ that you may spell combat & spell strike with natural weapons.

However you can't get a secondary natural attack in addition to the rest of an armed sequence IIRC.


Um, I think not cause a claw attack is not a spell. It's a natural attack, so the rules of that apply, so either attack with weapon or all your natural weapons. Or do you mean that you use the claw as a weapon while also casting? That I think works.


The latest FAQ about it. I think in April or may they took away spellcombat with natural attacks. If you look at the guide to builds they took down most magus builds because of it.


Not true, the FAQ is still up.


My bad it took down my hair magus so I got it mixed.up with other natural attacks.

Grand Lodge

In spell combat, you can

  • get your iterative attacks with a light or one-handed weapon in one hand (this can be a claw if you want, since your claw is a light weapon), and
  • cast a spell with the other hand.

That's it. The FAQ confirms that spell combat is not a full attack, so you don't get any of the options you can add to a full attack, such as extra natural attacks.

I believe you could spellstrike with your off-hand claw, since spellstrike is a free action in addition to the spell combat full-round action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus Claws All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions